One marketing need. Multiple leading AI platforms. One transparent consensus. How it works
AI MarketingConsensus Index

AI Consensus Fit Review

Scrunch AI AI Visibility Platform Fit Review for Tracking Recommendation Share

Scrunch AI is a good fit for tracking AI recommendation share, with caveats.

Research: 2026-09-197 usable platform responsesRead the methodology ↗

Answer Capsule

Scrunch AI is a good fit for tracking AI recommendation share, with caveats. Four of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and it placed as high as third. Its strongest asset is recommendation-level data: response position, share of voice, sentiment, citations, and competitor comparisons across multiple AI platforms. The main limitation is transparency. Public evidence does not clearly define a single standardized recommendation-share metric, plan names and pricing conflict across sources, prompt refresh frequency is disputed, and independent validation of recommendation-share accuracy was not found. Buyers should verify metrics, coverage, and contract terms directly before committing.

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage4 of 7 platforms (anthropic, deepseek, grok, openai)
Share of included platform responses57.1%
Average listed rank5.75
Best listed rank3 (openai)
Relevant product/model/planScrunch AI visibility/answer-engine optimization platform; Monitoring & Insights; reported Growth/Enterprise plan; Agent Experience Platform (AXP)
Overall use-case fitGood (platform-reported; mixed and uncertain ratings also recorded)
Research date2026-09-19

Why Scrunch AI Qualified for This Study

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Scrunch AI a good choice for AI Visibility Platforms for Tracking Recommendation Share?
  • How many AI platforms named Scrunch AI during ranking discovery for recommendation-share tracking?

Scrunch AI qualified because four of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and it reached a best listed rank of third (openai). Its fit ratings split across platforms: strong (google, grok), good (anthropic, openai), mixed (deepseek, perplexity), and uncertain (kimi). That spread is itself a finding. Platforms that retrieved Scrunch's own documentation described recommendation-level metrics in detail; platforms that could not retrieve product pages treated the fit as unverified.

Scrunch publicly positions itself as an AI search and answer-engine visibility platform [1]. Independent reviewers describe it as combining prompt monitoring, brand and competitor visibility analysis, citation intelligence, personas, geographic targeting, topic segmentation, website audits, AI crawler analysis, and APIs [2]. One platform noted substantial Series A funding and rapid customer growth as signals of category positioning, though that is a reviewer's assessment rather than a verified metric [3].

The qualification notes in the identity audit matter here. Official-site retrieval failed for at least one platform mention, and no failed fetch was used as a verified domain key. Company-name variants were collapsed onto one canonical brand before minimum-mentions qualification. One platform could not reconcile the "Scrunch AI" name with a retrievable product lineup and raised the possibility of rebranding, acquisition, or naming confusion [4]. That uncertainty is disclosed rather than resolved.

The Product, Model, Plan, or Service Most Relevant to AI Visibility Platforms for Tracking Recommendation Share

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which Scrunch AI plan should a buyer choose if they need recommendation-position and competitor-comparison data across more than four AI engines?
  • Does Scrunch AI's Core plan include Claude and Google AI Mode for recommendation-share tracking?

The relevant offering is Scrunch's AI visibility and answer-engine optimization platform, sold as a monitoring and insights product with an optional content-delivery layer called the Agent Experience Platform (AXP). Scrunch describes products for AI visibility monitoring, auditing, content optimization, and content delivery [5].

Plan structure is the least settled part of the evidence. One independent review reports a Core plan at $250/month covering four engines with 125 prompts, 3 personas, 5 site audits per month, and 5 user licenses, with Enterprise covering nine engines (Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, Google AI Mode, and Grok added to the four core), unlimited custom prompts, full site audits, API, Looker Studio, SSO, and a dedicated team [6]. Another review describes a Starter plan tracking 1,000 automated industry prompts and 350 custom prompts [8]. A third describes Starter at $300/month and Growth at $500/month [9]. A fourth reports Growth at $417/month billed annually or $500 month-to-month [10].

Scrunch's own pricing page shows a Core plan at $250/month [10]. The retrieved official pricing excerpt also contains unrelated placeholder content for a different product name, which is a retrieval artifact rather than a Scrunch plan; it should not be read as a Scrunch tier. The practical conclusion: plan names and inclusions changed during 2026 and no single public source reconciles them.

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions This Section Answers

  • What recommendation-level metrics does Scrunch AI track beyond simple brand mentions?
  • Does Scrunch AI report platform-by-platform results and historical trends for AI recommendation share?

Agreement was strong on capability, not on proof. Multiple platforms independently described the same core metric set.

Scrunch states that it tracks brand placement in AI responses, including top, middle, bottom, aggregate placement, prompt-level results, and average brand ranking order [11]. It reports brand presence, competitive presence, share of voice, response position, sentiment, citations, AI bot traffic, referrals, and trends [12]. It tracks competitors across AI platforms and supports filters, prompt drill-downs, citation analysis, and historical comparison [13].

Independent reviews converge on the same description. One review found that data captured per prompt includes whether the brand was mentioned, context and sentiment, competing brands, and URLs cited as sources [14]. Another describes share-of-voice comparisons for benchmarking against others in a niche [15]. A third describes tracking citations, share of voice, sentiment, and competitor presence across multiple AI platforms [16].

Platform coverage is described consistently at the top end. Scrunch documents monitoring across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, and other AI platforms, with platform-specific presence, competitive presence, position, sentiment, and citation data [17]. One source states Scrunch supports nine major AI platforms: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Grok, and Meta AI [18].

Refresh cadence drew partial agreement. Scrunch states that new prompts are collected daily for 14 days, then use a default 72-hour refresh cadence, with manual refresh available [19]. An independent review reports weekly rather than daily updates based on first-hand experience [20]. These two accounts are not fully reconcilable from the supplied evidence.

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Scrunch AI's recommendation-share metric standardized and independently verified?
  • How much does Scrunch AI cost per month, and do sources agree on the price?

Disagreement clustered around four issues.

Whether a recommendation-share metric exists as a defined field. Scrunch's placement view categorizes a brand as top, middle, or bottom and can show average listing order and prompt-level results, which is materially closer to recommendation-share tracking than simple mention monitoring. However, the public documentation does not clearly define a single standardized recommendation-share field [21]. One platform concluded that public sources do not clearly verify recommendation-level share reporting, recommendation position tracking, or competitor-comparison outputs at the required granularity [23]. Another found no verifiable evidence that Scrunch distinguishes brand mentions from active recommendations [24].

Pricing. Third-party sources cite approximately $250/month or $300/month starting points, while enterprise pricing is described as custom [25]. One source reports entry around $250–$500/month with higher tiers custom [26]. Another reports Pro/Enterprise at $1,000+/month or custom [27]. The requested Growth/Enterprise estimate of $300+/month requires confirmation directly from Scrunch [28].

Prompt refresh frequency. As noted above, vendor documentation and independent testing diverge [29].

AXP availability. The Agent Experience Platform serves AI-optimized versions of pages to AI user agents while preserving the human-facing design [31]. One review states AXP was piloted mid-2025 and remains in limited availability as of early 2026 [32]. Another describes it as limited beta as of mid-2026 with no public GA date [32]. Multiple reviewers advise basing purchase decisions on live features rather than AXP promises.

Ownership. One source reports that in 2026 Sitecore acquired Scrunch AI, a move that signals consolidation in the AI visibility space [33]. Another reports the acquisition occurred in June 2026 for approximately $225 million, with Scrunch running both as a standalone tool and integrating over time [34]. The impact on roadmap independence, pricing, or feature gating is unclear.

Use-Case-Specific Features and Capabilities

Questions This Section Answers

  • Does Scrunch AI track recommendation position and historical trends well enough to replace a dedicated recommendation-share tool?
  • Can Scrunch AI attribute AI referral traffic and crawler activity to specific platforms?

Scrunch's feature set maps closely to the stated use case, with one structural gap.

Recommendation-level and position data. Scrunch states that it tracks brand presence, share of voice, response position, sentiment, citations, and competitive presence, with placement categorized as top, middle, or bottom and average listing order available at prompt level [35]. One review notes that top/middle/bottom placement is a coarse position measure and may not equal exact recommendation rank or conversion impact [35].

Platform-by-platform and competitor analysis. Scrunch reports monitoring across platforms including ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, and others, with competitor comparisons by platform, prompt, topic, persona, funnel stage, and time period [37]. Users can define competitors to monitor alongside the brand across the same prompt libraries [39]. The platform aggregates competitive presence, top brands, and citations by owner (brand versus competitor versus third party) to measure relative recommendation share [40].

Historical trends and refresh cadence. Users can view performance trends over time, with new prompts collected daily for 14 days and then refreshed on a default 72-hour cadence [37]. Daily snapshots show how answers and brand positions change over time, with filtering by topic, persona, and funnel stage [42].

API and data export. Scrunch documents query and response APIs. The query API reportedly exposes brand presence, sentiment, and related metrics by AI platform, while the responses API exposes full answers, citations, competitors, and metadata for prompt executions [44]. A separate API reference describes aggregated metrics including brand presence, position, sentiment, and citation share of voice [45].

Crawler analytics and attribution. Through GA4 integration, Scrunch tracks AI crawler bot traffic and provides traffic attribution from AI platforms [46]. Named tracking of ClaudeBot, GPTBot, and PerplexityBot plus GA4-connected AI referral traffic is consistently the most-praised part of the platform [47].

Optimization and content delivery. The platform combines monitoring with website auditing, content optimization, prompt generation, and an Agent Experience Platform that can serve AI-optimized page versions to AI user agents [48]. One review describes AXP as serving cached, condensed, and structured versions of web pages directly to AI retrieval bots at the CDN level [50]. Optimization outcomes are company claims rather than independently verified results.

The structural gap. Insights functionality is marked beta and significantly more limited than other AI visibility solutions [52]. The platform does not include on-page optimization, schema recommendations, or content editing tools. Competitor analysis does not explain why competitors win recommendations or provide automated gap remediation suggestions [53]. Manual prompt setup is required, with no automatic discovery of high-intent prompts [54].

Pricing, Fees, Contracts, and Ongoing Costs

Questions This Section Answers

  • How much does Scrunch AI cost per month, and are there setup or cancellation fees?
  • What contract terms and additional fees should a buyer confirm before signing with Scrunch AI?

Pricing confidence is low to moderate across platforms, and the sources conflict.

Source typeReported priceNotes
Official pricing pageCore at $250/month
Independent reviewCore $250/month annual, ~$300/month monthly125 prompts, 4 engines, 3 personas, 5 audits/month, 5 licenses
Independent reviewStarter $300/month, Growth $500/monthAnnual billing reduces to $250 and $417
Independent reviewGrowth $417/month annual or $500 month-to-month
Third-party review aggregatorStarting at $300/month for basic functionalityCustom enterprise pricing
Independent review~$250–$500/month entry; Pro/Enterprise $1,000+/month or custom

Annual billing offers a discount equivalent to two months free, with a minimum annual cash commitment of $3,000 on Core as of August 2026 [55]. A seven-day free trial is described in Scrunch's how-to documentation [56]. Monthly billing is available without a stated minimum lock-in, but no explicit month-to-month cancellation terms are published [55].

Additional fees are largely undisclosed. It is unclear whether API access, additional prompts, additional engines, historical backfill, seats, agencies, implementation, or AXP/content-delivery capabilities incur separate fees [57]. One review notes API access and Looker Studio integration are Enterprise-only with pricing not specified [58]. Custom prompt volume overages have no published charge structure [55].

Contract terms are thin. Contract length, renewal, cancellation, refund, minimum commitment, and service-level terms were not verified from the reviewed public sources [57]. Enterprise contracts are described as annual and paid upfront, with cancellation terms not disclosed and no money-back guarantee found [55]. Scrunch's terms of use include an "as is" disclaimer, a liability cap at the greater of 12 months of fees paid or $1,000, and a class-action waiver with Utah governing law (official:C3).

Best Suited For

Questions This Section Answers

  • Who gets the most value from Scrunch AI for tracking AI recommendation share?
  • Is Scrunch AI a good fit for agencies managing AI visibility across multiple client brands?

Scrunch fits mid-market and enterprise marketing, SEO, and brand teams tracking prompts across several generative-answer platforms [59]. It also fits buyers that need both measurement and optimization workflows, including content recommendations and AI-agent-oriented content delivery [60].

Specific fits named across platforms:

  • Enterprise brands tracking AI visibility and share of voice across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini, Claude, and Meta AI [62].
  • Agencies managing AI visibility for multiple client brands with multi-workspace support and white-glove onboarding [63].
  • Companies requiring crawler analytics and AI traffic attribution via GA4 integration [64].
  • Teams needing competitor visibility, response position, citation, sentiment, and share-of-voice analysis [66].
  • Organizations with existing SOC 2 requirements; Scrunch carries SOC 2 Type II certification, SSO, and RBAC [68].
  • E-commerce brands needing SKU-level recommendation tracking, where Scrunch's Shopping module tracks SKU-level product performance, competitor share of shelf, first-position win rate, and third-party retailer interception [69].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions This Section Answers

  • Who should not choose Scrunch AI for AI Visibility Platforms for Tracking Recommendation Share?
  • Is Scrunch AI suitable for a solo marketer or small business on a sub-$300 monthly budget?

Several buyer profiles are poor matches.

Small buyers requiring transparent self-serve pricing and low recurring cost are not well served; Scrunch starts at $250/month with no free tier and is geared toward teams and agencies [70]. Solo marketers and small businesses seeking simple visibility scoring under $300/month are explicitly named as a poor fit [70].

Buyers needing a narrowly defined, independently audited recommendation-share metric rather than vendor-defined visibility and share-of-voice measures should look elsewhere [71]. Organizations requiring guaranteed identical methodology across all AI platforms or comprehensive coverage of every recommendation engine are also a poor fit [72].

Teams needing end-to-end optimization workflows with integrated content editing and schema recommendations will find the platform incomplete; it does not include on-page optimization, schema recommendations, or content editing tools [73]. Buyers requiring real-time sub-daily prompt update frequency for time-sensitive competitive monitoring should verify cadence carefully given the conflict between vendor and independent accounts [74].

Buyers dependent on AXP content delivery should not base a purchase on it; the feature remains in limited beta and unavailable to most Enterprise customers as of mid-2026 [76]. Organizations needing comprehensive SEO tooling alongside AI visibility should note Scrunch is not a classic SEO suite [70].

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions This Section Answers

  • What is a better alternative to Scrunch AI for a buyer who needs published, standardized recommendation-rate metrics?
  • When is a lower-cost self-serve AI visibility tool a better choice than Scrunch AI?

Alternative guidance from the platforms was consistent on direction, though specific competitor names came from only one platform and should be treated as platform-reported.

Choose a platform with published, standardized recommendation-rate or product-ranking metrics when exact recommendation share is the primary KPI [77]. Choose a lower-cost self-serve tracker when the buyer needs basic prompt monitoring rather than optimization, APIs, or enterprise workflows [78]. Choose a broader SEO suite when AI visibility must be combined with mature keyword, backlink, technical SEO, and content operations in one procurement [79]. Choose an enterprise platform with contractual data-quality, coverage, API, and service-level commitments when measurement consistency is mission-critical [78].

One platform named specific alternatives with documented recommendation-rate tracking, multi-platform coverage, and accessible pricing: friction AI, Centium, Viali, Meev, SE Visible, Mentionlytics, and Loamly [80]. That list is platform-reported and was not independently verified in this study. The same platform cited Centium at $99/month and Mentionlytics at $49/month as lower-cost options [80].

Where daily rather than weekly refresh matters, one review suggests Profound and Peec AI offer more frequent updates [81]. Where optimization is the priority rather than monitoring, Profound, Adobe LLM Optimizer, or Bluefish may offer deeper workflows [81]. Where budget is constrained below $300/month for multi-engine tracking, AirOps, Clearscope, or Conductor's free tier may fit [79]. Where 30+ language support is required, Profound supports 30+ languages while Scrunch does not [81].

Questions to Verify Before Buying

Questions This Section Answers

  • What should a buyer confirm with Scrunch AI before signing a contract?
  • Does Scrunch AI's quoted plan include a dedicated recommendation-share metric and the specific AI engines the buyer needs?

The platform-supplied verification lists converge on a consistent set of gaps. Buyers should confirm:

  • Does the selected plan expose a dedicated recommendation-share or recommendation-rate metric, or only presence, share of voice, citations, and position [82]?
  • Which exact AI platforms, models, shopping surfaces, AI Overviews, and recommendation experiences are included in the quoted plan [83]?
  • How many brands, competitors, prompts, locations, users, seats, API calls, and historical months are included [85]?
  • Is placement measured as exact rank, top/middle/bottom quartile, or another vendor-defined score [82]?
  • What are the platform-specific collection methods, refresh cadences, sampling rules, and known blind spots [86]?
  • Are API access, exports, historical backfill, additional engines, AXP, content optimization, and implementation included or separately charged [88]?
  • What are the contract term, renewal, cancellation, refund, data-retention, security, and service-level provisions [88]?
  • When will AXP be generally available, and to which plan tiers [90]?
  • Does the Sitecore acquisition change product roadmap, feature prioritization, or future pricing [91]?
  • Can Scrunch provide a sample report showing platform-by-platform recommendation share, position, historical trends, citations, and competitor comparisons for the buyer's category [93]?

Final AI Consensus Verdict

Scrunch AI is a good fit for tracking AI recommendation share, with material caveats that keep the rating below strong. Four of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and it reached a best listed rank of third. The strongest reason to consider it is recommendation-level data: response position, share of voice, sentiment, citations, competitor comparisons, platform-by-platform monitoring, and historical trends, plus crawler analytics and GA4 attribution that most competitors do not match.

The main limitation is transparency. Public evidence does not clearly define a single standardized recommendation-share metric separate from presence, share of voice, or position [94]. Plan names and pricing conflict across sources, with Core at $250/month, Starter at $300/month, Growth at $417–$500/month, and Enterprise custom all appearing in the reviewed material [96]. Prompt refresh frequency is disputed between vendor documentation and independent testing [99]. AXP remains in limited availability [101]. Independent validation of recommendation-share accuracy was not found.

AI-platform agreement here reflects how consistently platforms described the same vendor-documented capabilities. It does not prove product quality or measurement accuracy. Buyers whose primary need is monitoring recommendation visibility and share of voice across multiple engines should find Scrunch a reasonable fit at its current price point. Buyers who need integrated optimization, guaranteed methodology, or fully transparent pricing should verify those gaps first or consider the alternatives named above.

How This Review Was Produced

This review aggregates fit assessments from seven AI platforms that evaluated Scrunch AI against the use case "AI Visibility Platforms for Tracking Recommendation Share." Each platform returned a structured response covering recommendation-level data, platform-by-platform results, recommendation position, historical trends, competitor comparisons, pricing, and limitations. Four of seven platforms named Scrunch AI during ranking discovery. The report preserves each platform's stated fit rating, including disagreement, and does not average conflicting claims into a single figure. All citations are platform-reported evidence drawn from the supplied source catalog. No independent testing, customer interviews, or vendor briefings were conducted.

Methodology Limitations

Several limitations apply. Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date of 2026-09-19; one platform's research is dated 2026-02-14, so its findings may be stale. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. One platform ran without search enabled, so its claims require explicit verification before being described as current facts.

Official-site retrieval failed for at least one platform mention, and no failed fetch was used as a verified domain key. Company-name variants were collapsed onto one canonical brand before minimum-mentions qualification. The retrieved official pricing excerpt contained unrelated placeholder content for a different product name; that artifact was excluded from the pricing analysis. Platform mentions count only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery; all included platforms evaluated fit. Conflicting product names, pricing, and capabilities were described rather than resolved. No independent validation of recommendation-share accuracy, customer outcomes, or business impact was found in the supplied evidence.

Explore more ai visibility llm monitoring guidance in the category directory.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
September 19, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
50
Ranking mentions
4 of 7
Platform share
57%
Final consensus rank
#5

Research trail and source mix

Configured platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

25 independent · 25 company-owned

Evidence support

28 direct · 9 partial

Important limitation

Use the run research_date as the study date. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Source snapshot SHA-256 4f089fa7287e4e361b6f87cc556545ce0e14884969349ee4f5819f4017d7f2ce