One marketing need. Multiple leading AI platforms. One transparent consensus. How it works
AI MarketingConsensus Index

AI Consensus Fit Review

Profound Multi-Platform AI Visibility Monitoring Tool Fit Review

Profound is a strong-to-good fit for companies that need one platform to monitor brand visibility across multiple AI answer engines, but the fit depends heavily on which tier the buyer chooses.

Research: 2026-09-197 usable platform responsesRead the methodology ↗

Answer Capsule

Profound is a strong-to-good fit for companies that need one platform to monitor brand visibility across multiple AI answer engines, but the fit depends heavily on which tier the buyer chooses. Six of seven platforms named Profound during ranking discovery, with an average listed rank of 1.67 and a best rank of 1. The strongest reason to consider it is centralized tracking of mentions, citations, competitor share of voice, prompt-level results, and historical trends across several engines. The main limitation is tier gating: the $99 Starter plan tracks ChatGPT only, and broad multi-engine coverage requires a custom-priced Enterprise contract.

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage6 of 7 platforms named Profound (anthropic, deepseek, google, grok, openai, perplexity)
Share of included platform responses85.7%
Average listed rank1.67
Best listed rank1
Relevant product/model/planProfound Answer Engine Insights on the Growth or Enterprise plan, with the Enterprise Platform for broader multi-engine requirements
Overall use-case fitStrong for enterprise and upper-mid-market buyers; good with caveats for mid-market; uncertain where public verification is required
Research date2026-09-19

Why Profound Qualified for This Study

Questions This Section Answers

  • Why did multiple AI platforms recommend Profound for multi-platform AI visibility monitoring?
  • Is Profound a legitimate contender for tracking brand visibility across several AI answer engines?

Profound qualified because it is purpose-built for AI visibility monitoring rather than retrofitted from a traditional SEO suite, and because six of the seven included platforms named it during ranking discovery. Its average listed rank was 1.67, and it received a first-place listing from at least two platforms (anthropic and grok). The platform's own materials describe monitoring across major answer engines, AI crawler and referred-traffic analytics, shopping analysis, agents, and platform integrations [1].

Independent reviewers broadly corroborate the enterprise positioning. One review describes Profound as an enterprise AEO/GEO platform tracking ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, and Google AI Overviews [2]. Another reports that Profound secured a $96M Series C at a $1 billion valuation in February 2026, with total funding of roughly $155M [3]. A separate review reports more than 2,000 marketers across 500+ enterprise companies, including over 10% of the Fortune 500 [5].

Those market-position claims come from independent reviews, not from Profound's own published financial disclosures in the supplied evidence, and they should be treated as platform-reported rather than independently verified. The qualification for this study rests on the product's stated scope matching the buyer's requirement: one platform tracking recommendations, mentions, citations, competitor performance, prompt-level results, and historical trends across multiple leading AI platforms.

This review sits inside a broader comparison of Multi-Platform AI Visibility Monitoring Tools, where Profound is one of several evaluated options.

The Product, Model, Plan, or Service Most Relevant to Multi-Platform AI Visibility Monitoring Tools

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which Profound plan should a buyer choose if they need tracking across more than three AI engines?
  • Is Profound Answer Engine Insights on the Growth plan enough for multi-platform AI visibility monitoring?

The relevant offering is Profound Answer Engine Insights on the Growth or Enterprise plan, with the Enterprise Platform for broader multi-engine and enterprise requirements. Every platform that named a plan pointed to Growth or Enterprise rather than Starter.

The tier structure matters because multi-platform coverage is gated. Starter is $99/month billed yearly and tracks ChatGPT only, with 50 prompts and 100 Agent credits per month [6]. Growth is $399/month billed yearly, tracks three answer engines (ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Google AI Overviews), includes 100 prompts and 9,000 analyzed responses per month, and provides 400 Agent credits per month [6]. Enterprise is custom-priced with tailored prompt tracking and up to nine advertised answer engines on the public pricing page [6].

Independent reviews describe the same three-tier structure. One reports Starter at $99/month (billed annually as $82.50/month equivalent) for 50 prompts, and Growth at $399/month (billed annually as $332.50/month equivalent) for 100 prompts across three engines [7]. Another reports the same $99 and $399 figures with annual billing taking roughly two months off the rates [8]. A third reports that Claude and Gemini sit on custom Enterprise pricing and require a sales conversation [10].

The practical implication is that Growth is the minimum credible multi-platform tier, and Enterprise is the likely fit when the buyer needs Claude, Gemini, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, or Google AI Mode. Starter does not satisfy a broad multi-platform requirement.

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions This Section Answers

  • What do AI platforms agree Profound does well for multi-platform AI visibility monitoring?
  • Does Profound track citations, competitor share of voice, and prompt-level results across AI engines?

Agreement was strong but not unanimous on several points.

Multi-engine tracking exists, but the exact count is disputed. Platforms agreed that Profound tracks multiple AI engines. They disagreed on how many. The official pricing page says Enterprise supports up to nine answer engines [11]. Several independent reviews report up to ten engines [12]. One review lists ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, and Grok among the covered engines on custom Enterprise pricing [13]. Treat the exact count as unresolved until confirmed in a written quote.

Citation and mention tracking is a core capability. Profound tracks how often a brand is cited in AI-generated responses, identifies source citations influencing recommendations, measures share of voice against competitors, and provides sentiment analysis [14]. The platform also tracks cited URLs and citation share for the buyer and competitors, supports source categorization, and provides platform-, topic-, and prompt-level citation analysis [17].

Prompt-level results and historical trends are supported. The platform runs structured prompts daily, provides recommended prompt sets, and allows users to edit, disable, or add prompts [11]. It provides daily collection, visibility and citation trend views, competitor comparisons, platform matrices, and historical performance analysis [18].

Competitive benchmarking is consistent across sources. Share-of-voice measurement compares brand mentions to competitors, with sentiment tracking and visibility score trends over days and weeks [16]. Independent directories describe competitive benchmarking and brand positioning evaluation as core features [20].

Enterprise governance is widely reported. Enterprise is advertised with multiple companies tracked, tailored prompt plans, dedicated Slack support, and SSO/SAML plus SOC 2 compliance support [11]. One company-owned source states Profound is SOC 2 Type II certified and HIPAA compliant, with SSO, role-based access, daily backups, and a dedicated AI strategist and engagement manager [21]. That certification claim is company-owned and was not independently verified in the supplied evidence.

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions This Section Answers

  • What are the biggest uncertainties about Profound for multi-platform AI visibility monitoring?
  • Does Profound support multi-account management for agencies tracking several brands?

Disagreement and uncertainty clustered around pricing, engine counts, multi-account support, and data collection method.

Enterprise pricing is not public and estimates conflict. Independent reviews report Enterprise price ranges such as approximately $2,000–$5,000 or more per month, but Profound does not publish those figures [22]. These should not be used as verified pricing. One platform (deepseek) reported that no verified public pricing was located at all and that pricing appears quote-based [24]. Another platform (kimi) rated pricing confidence as low and noted that competitor positioning implies premium pricing without confirming actual fees [25].

Engine count is inconsistent. The official pricing page says up to nine engines [26]. Independent reviews say ten [27]. One review reports that Profound tracks 10+ AI engines with 400M+ prompt insights [29]. This conflict is unresolved in public sources.

Multi-account management is a reported structural gap. One independent review states Profound does not support multi-account management [30], and multiple reviewers flag this as a hard limit for agencies, holding companies, and teams running more than one brand [31]. One platform (anthropic) also lists an "Agency Plan" with custom pricing and multi-client workspace support, which conflicts with the no-multi-account finding. This conflict is unresolved and should be verified directly.

API access terms are unclear. Public search results and third-party reviews disagree about whether API access is Enterprise-only and whether it is included or separately priced [22]. One review reports API access, custom seats, and dedicated support on higher tiers [32], but the exact terms are not established.

Data collection method is a structural tradeoff. One independent review reports that Profound leans on APIs for governance and scale reasons, while most relevant competitors use UI or hybrid collection [33]. The same source notes that API responses often differ from user-facing chat, which matters for e-commerce visibility where user-seen results are the point.

Integration gaps are reported. One independent review reports that Profound does not have native GA4 integration, calling it a meaningful gap for building an AEO ROI business case [34]. Another reports that Shopping Analysis does not connect visibility data to actual sales metrics or sync with a live catalog, leaving the attribution loop open [35].

One platform could not verify core requirements at all. The kimi platform rated Profound an uncertain fit, reporting that no direct source verified engine coverage, composite scoring, citation tracking, historical trends, or transparent pricing, and that official-site retrieval failed [25]. That platform's assessment relied on competitor-reported characterizations. This is a genuine evidence limitation, not a product defect, and it is disclosed here rather than resolved.

Use-Case-Specific Features and Capabilities

Questions This Section Answers

  • Does Profound track AI shopping recommendations and product-level visibility?
  • What prompt volume and response limits does Profound include for multi-platform monitoring?

Multi-platform coverage. Growth tracks three answer engines: ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Google AI Overviews. Enterprise is described as supporting up to nine answer engines, including ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, and Anthropic Claude [36]. Starter is ChatGPT-only.

Visibility and recommendation monitoring. Answer Engine Insights measures brand presence, share of voice, sentiment, ranking or mention position, and competitive presence across tracked AI platforms [36]. The product is intended to show how brands appear in AI-generated answers and recommendations, though exact recommendation-specific methodology should be confirmed for the buyer's category.

Citation and source analysis. Profound tracks cited URLs and citation share for the buyer and competitors, supports source categorization, and provides platform-, topic-, and prompt-level citation analysis. It also identifies frequently cited publishers and authors and supports watched-page trend monitoring [38].

Prompt-level results. Growth includes 100 unique prompts and 9,000 analyzed responses per month; Enterprise uses a tailored prompt-tracking plan [36]. Prompt Volumes, which draws on real-user conversation data, is reported as Enterprise-only by one independent review [39], while company-owned material describes Prompt Volumes as built on 1.9+ billion real user prompts segmented by intent and demographics [40].

Shopping and recommendation surfaces. Profound Shopping shows how products perform across ChatGPT Shopping and tracks baseline product visibility across ChatGPT Shopping-triggered responses [41]. One independent review describes Shopping Analysis as an enterprise add-on providing SKU tracking [43]. A press release describes the module as enabling retailers to track products in AI shopping conversations, monitor visibility and positioning, and understand attributes assigned to products [44].

Operational and traffic intelligence. The platform advertises AI crawler, agent traffic, and AI-referred traffic monitoring through integrations including Akamai, AWS, Cloudflare, Fastly, Google Analytics, Google Cloud Platform, Netlify, Vercel, and WordPress [36]. One independent review reports that Agent Analytics requires integration with Cloudflare, Vercel, AWS, or Netlify infrastructure [46].

Enterprise controls. Enterprise is advertised with multiple companies tracked, tailored prompt plans, dedicated Slack support, and SSO/SAML plus SOC 2 compliance support [36]. Public materials do not establish the exact contractual scope, certification status, API availability, or service-level commitments for every Enterprise configuration.

Pricing, Fees, Contracts, and Ongoing Costs

Questions This Section Answers

  • How much does Profound cost per month, and are there setup or cancellation fees?
  • What additional costs apply to Profound Agent credits and extra prompt volume?

Public pricing covers two self-serve tiers, both billed yearly. Starter is $99/month billed yearly with 50 prompts, ChatGPT-only tracking, and 100 Agent credits per month. Growth is $399/month billed yearly with 100 prompts, three answer engines, 9,000 analyzed responses per month, and 400 Agent credits per month. Enterprise is custom-priced [47].

Independent reviews corroborate the $99 and $399 figures and the annual billing structure [48]. One review reports a $1,188 public annual cash minimum [53]. Another reports that annual billing takes roughly two months off Starter and Growth rates [49]. One review notes that third-party sites have occasionally listed inaccurate outdated pricing such as a $499 Standard plan, and that primary vendor sources and active 2026 user reviews confirm the $99 and $399 tiers [50].

Enterprise pricing is not published. Independent reviews report ranges such as approximately $2,000–$5,000 or more per month, but these are third-party estimates and should not be treated as verified [54]. One platform reported that no verified public pricing was located at all [56].

Additional cost considerations:

  • Agent usage is credit-based. Additional credit thresholds require an Enterprise package; overage billing or pausing may be configured depending on the account [47].
  • Potential costs for increased prompt volume, additional Agent credits, additional companies, integrations, API access, seats, or implementation are not publicly specified [47].
  • One review reports that each full client workspace costs an additional $399/month on an Agency Growth plan [57].
  • Starter and Growth are presented as billed yearly; the public pricing page does not specify cancellation, refund, renewal, notice, or minimum-term terms [47].
  • Enterprise commercial, support, data-processing, SLA, and cancellation terms require a sales quote and contract review [47].
  • One independent review reports that Enterprise contracts are quote-based with non-standard terms, and that third-party reviewers report slow contract movement and no-refund policies on multi-year agreements [55].
  • One review reports a seven-day free trial of the Growth plan [58]. Company-owned material describes a trial offering 10 prompts on ChatGPT only [59]. These two descriptions conflict and should be confirmed.

Pricing confidence across platforms was mixed: openai rated it moderate, grok rated it moderate, perplexity rated it low, deepseek rated it low, and kimi rated it low. Google rated it high. The spread reflects genuine public inconsistency rather than a single correct answer.

Best Suited For

Questions This Section Answers

  • Who gets the most value from Profound for multi-platform AI visibility monitoring?
  • Is Profound a good fit for enterprise teams tracking AI citations and competitor share of voice?

Profound is best suited to mid-market and enterprise marketing, SEO, communications, and AEO teams measuring visibility across multiple AI platforms (openai). It fits companies that require citation-share analysis, competitor benchmarking, platform-by-platform comparisons, and historical monitoring, and that can support annual billing and potentially sales-led Enterprise pricing.

It also fits regulated or compliance-sensitive industries that need SOC 2 Type II governance and audit trails, according to one platform's assessment (anthropic). E-commerce and retail brands tracking product recommendations across conversational AI are a reported fit, provided the Shopping Analysis add-on meets their SKU and revenue attribution needs (anthropic). Organizations with existing SEO and analytics teams to operationalize insights are better positioned than lean teams without that infrastructure (anthropic).

The common thread across platforms: buyers who need one dashboard for multi-engine visibility, citations, competitors, prompt-level analysis, and trends, and who can absorb an annual commitment.

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions This Section Answers

  • Who should not choose Profound for multi-platform AI visibility monitoring?
  • Is Profound a poor fit for small teams or buyers needing only one AI engine?

Small buyers needing only one AI platform or a low-cost, transparent self-serve tool are a poor fit. Starter tracks ChatGPT only and is not a meaningful multi-platform option (openai). Teams requiring all leading engines at the lowest tier will not get that from Starter.

Agencies, holding companies, and multi-brand teams face a reported structural blocker. One independent review states Profound does not support multi-account management, and multiple reviewers flag this as a hard limit for teams running more than one brand [60]. One platform's assessment lists this as a structural blocker for agency use (anthropic). This conflicts with a reported Agency Plan with multi-client workspace support, so buyers in this situation should verify directly.

Buyers that need guaranteed public pricing for high-volume monitoring, API access, or extensive customization before engaging sales are also a poor fit (openai). Teams without dedicated Shopify or Vercel/AWS infrastructure for Agent Analytics CDN integration may find that capability inaccessible [62].

Organizations wanting a free or open-source monitoring approach, or buyers requiring guaranteed coverage of every niche AI platform, are also outside the fit profile (deepseek).

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions This Section Answers

  • What is a better alternative to Profound for a buyer who needs broader engine coverage at a lower price?
  • When should a buyer choose a different AI visibility tool instead of Profound?

Several platforms named specific alternatives and the conditions under which they make sense.

Lower-cost multi-platform entry. One platform suggests considering Scrunch AI or comparable tools when the priority is full assistant coverage or persona modeling at a lower published or independently reported entry price (openai). Another names Otterly AI at $29/month or Rankability as broader-engine, lower-cost self-serve options (anthropic). A third names GrackerAI Starter at $99/month or SE Visible Basic at $99/month as transparent entry points [63].

Multi-brand and agency management. One platform reports that Rankability and Semrush offer multi-client workspace support, and that Profound's single-workspace architecture is a structural blocker for that use case (anthropic). This conflicts with the reported Agency Plan and should be verified.

E-commerce SKU-level tracking with revenue attribution. One platform reports that AthenaHQ/Alhena AI Visibility offer native catalog sync and first-party customer data, while Profound Shopping Analysis does not connect to sales [65]. Another notes that e-commerce-native platforms like Yotpo Discover or Alhena provide an execution layer, while Profound is monitoring-first (anthropic).

SEO suite integration. One platform suggests considering a broader SEO suite such as Semrush when AI visibility must be integrated with an existing SEO workflow and the buyer accepts bundled tooling rather than a specialized enterprise visibility platform (openai).

Open API and custom sampling. One platform suggests considering a technically configurable alternative when the buyer needs open API access, custom sampling, or direct data ownership rather than a primarily vendor-managed platform (openai).

Single-engine, lower budget. One platform notes that Peec AI or Otterly AI provide cheaper alternatives if only ChatGPT visibility matters (anthropic).

Cross-border engine coverage. One platform names Citany as covering Kimi, Doubao, and DeepSeek across eight engine paths at a $399/month Agency tier [66]. That source is a competitor to Profound and may have an incentive to position Profound as expensive, so treat the comparison as competitor-reported.

Questions to Verify Before Buying

Questions This Section Answers

  • What should a buyer confirm with Profound before signing a contract?
  • Does Profound Enterprise include nine or ten AI engines, and is API access included?

The following questions are drawn from the verification lists supplied by the included platforms. They are consolidated and deduplicated.

Coverage and scope

  • Which exact AI platforms, models, regions, languages, and answer surfaces are included in the quoted plan?
  • Does Enterprise include nine or ten engines, and can engines be added individually?
  • Are Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, ChatGPT Shopping, and other recommendation or shopping surfaces included for this use case?
  • How are prompts sourced, localized, randomized, refreshed, and sampled across platforms?
  • How does Profound distinguish recommendations, mentions, citations, rankings, sentiment, and generated product attributes?

Limits and capacity

  • What are the exact prompt, response, competitor, company, domain, seat, and historical-retention limits?
  • What Prompt Volumes data is available on Growth, and at what cost?
  • Is Shopping Analysis included on all Enterprise contracts or only specific high-tier packages?
  • Does Shopping Analysis connect to a product catalog or integrate with Shopify or Shopify Plus?

Technical and integration

  • Is API access included, separately priced, rate-limited, or unavailable for the proposed configuration?
  • Does Profound have GA4 or CRM integration, or a planned integration roadmap for revenue attribution?
  • What is the technical requirement and cost for CDN integration to enable Agent Analytics?
  • Can the buyer export raw prompt responses, citations, competitor data, and historical results in CSV, JSON, or API form?

Commercial and contractual

  • What are the annual commitment, renewal, cancellation, refund, overage, and price-increase terms?
  • What additional charges apply to Agent credits, extra prompt volume, additional companies, integrations, implementation, or dedicated support?
  • Do you support multi-brand workspace consolidation or multi-account rollovers for agencies?
  • What are the expected data latency, historical backfill, and uptime or support commitments?

Security and compliance

  • What security documentation, SOC 2 scope, SSO/SAML functionality, data-processing terms, and retention controls will be provided?
  • Does the platform include dedicated support and strategist engagement on all Enterprise tiers, or only specific contract levels?

Final AI Consensus Verdict

Profound is a strong fit for enterprise and upper-mid-market buyers seeking centralized, multi-platform AI visibility monitoring with citation intelligence, competitor benchmarking, prompt-level analysis, and trend reporting. Growth is suitable for three-engine monitoring; Enterprise is the likely fit for broad platform coverage and scale.

The principal tradeoffs are annual commitment, limited lower-tier coverage, custom Enterprise pricing, possible usage-based Agent costs, and unresolved public inconsistencies about exact engine count and API terms. Six of seven platforms named Profound during ranking discovery, and fit ratings ranged from strong (openai, grok) to good (anthropic, deepseek, google, perplexity) to uncertain (kimi). That spread reflects genuine evidence gaps rather than a settled consensus.

Buyers should treat the platform's stated capabilities as platform-reported until confirmed in writing. The most consequential items to resolve before signing are the exact engine list in the quoted plan, the Enterprise price and contract terms, whether API access is included, and whether multi-account management is supported for the buyer's structure.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced from structured fit-research responses submitted by seven AI platforms: anthropic, deepseek, google, grok, kimi, openai, and perplexity. Each platform was asked to evaluate Profound for the specific use case of multi-platform AI visibility monitoring, including recommendations, mentions, citations, competitor performance, prompt-level results, and historical trends.

The research date for this study is 2026-09-19. Platform-reported research dates differ: deepseek reported 2026-06-01, while the other six platforms reported 2026-09-19. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Profound was named by six of the seven platforms during ranking discovery, with an average listed rank of 1.67 and a best rank of 1. Fit ratings by platform were: strong (openai, grok), good (anthropic, deepseek, google, perplexity), and uncertain (kimi).

All factual claims are cited to the platform that supplied them. Company-owned sources are distinguished from independent sources in the Sources section. No personal testing, customer experience, or independent verification was performed by the writer.

Methodology Limitations

Several limitations apply to this review.

Platform-reported evidence. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. No-search model claims require explicit verification before being described as current facts. The deepseek platform ran without search enabled, so its claims are model-reported rather than retrieved.

Conflicting product names and pricing. Public sources disagree on the exact current packaging and limits for Starter, Growth, and Enterprise. Third-party reviews report different seat, prompt, response, and engine counts. These conflicts are described rather than resolved.

Engine count conflict. The official pricing page says up to nine engines; independent reviews say ten. This is unresolved.

Enterprise pricing is not public. Third-party estimates of $2,000–$5,000+ per month are not verified and should not be used as a basis for budgeting.

Multi-account conflict. One review states Profound does not support multi-account management; another platform describes an Agency Plan with multi-client workspace support. This is unresolved.

Official website discrepancy. The supplied official website URL redirects or differs from the current tryprofound.com product and pricing pages. The retrieved content at that URL described MarketResearch.com rather than Profound's AEO product, which suggests the domain may not resolve to the intended product. Buyers should verify the contracting entity, domain, and product identity.

Failed retrieval. Official-site retrieval failed for one or more mentions during the research process, and no failed fetch was used as a verified domain key. One platform (kimi) reported that its assessment relied on competitor-reported characterizations because direct retrieval failed.

Source URL validation. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage.

Platform date discrepancies. Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date, as noted above.

No independent testing. No personal testing, customer experience, medical benefit, guaranteed performance, or independent verification was performed. AI-platform agreement does not prove product quality.

Explore more ai visibility llm monitoring guidance in the category directory.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
September 19, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
44
Ranking mentions
6 of 7
Platform share
86%
Final consensus rank
#1

Research trail and source mix

Configured platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

23 independent · 21 company-owned

Evidence support

37 direct · 7 partial

Important limitation

Use the run research_date as the study date. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Source snapshot SHA-256 076240bc301c39a7e926a54831de29755afcfa75e79f7cf7d58b159357efb514