One marketing need. Multiple leading AI platforms. One transparent consensus. How it works
AI MarketingConsensus Index

AI Consensus Fit Review

Profound AI Search Audit Fit Review for Regulated Industries

Profound is a good fit for regulated-industry AI search audits, with caveats.

Research: 2026-09-187 usable platform responsesRead the methodology ↗

Answer Capsule

Profound is a good fit for regulated-industry AI search audits, with caveats. Two of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, at ranks 1 and 2 (average 1.5), and all seven evaluated its fit. The strongest reason to consider it is Answer Engine Insights: prompt-driven measurement of visibility, citations, citation share, competitor presence, and source domains, plus FactCheck comparison of AI claims against a connected knowledge base [1]. The main limitation is that Profound measures and diagnoses rather than remediates: it is not a legal, regulatory, or compliance review, and it does not implement content or technical fixes [4].

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage2 of 7 platforms (deepseek, openai)
Share of included platform responses28.6%
Average listed rank1.5
Best listed rank1 (deepseek)
Relevant product/model/planAnswer Engine Insights; Profound Enterprise or Agency deployment
Overall use-case fitGood, with material verification gaps
Research date2026-09-18

Why Profound Qualified for This Study

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Profound a good choice for AI Search Audits for Regulated Industries?
  • Why did only two of seven AI platforms name Profound during ranking discovery?

Profound qualified because it was named during ranking discovery and because every platform that evaluated it found at least some use-case alignment. Two of seven platforms named it in the ranking stage: deepseek at rank 1 and openai at rank 2, for an average listed rank of 1.5 and a 28.6% share of included platform responses. The remaining five platforms did not name it during ranking discovery but still produced fit research, and their verdicts ranged from strong (google, grok) to good (openai, deepseek, perplexity) to mixed (anthropic) to uncertain (kimi).

The qualification rests on product scope rather than brand familiarity. Answer Engine Insights runs structured prompts across supported answer engines and reports visibility, share of voice, average position, sentiment, and competitive presence [6]. Independent reviewers describe the same core capability, including visibility scoring, share of voice, sentiment, keyword insights, and competitor comparisons [7]. For a regulated buyer, the relevant question is whether that measurement layer maps to audit criteria such as recommendation analysis, citation measurement, competitor benchmarking, influential source-domain analysis, content and authority gaps, and a prioritized improvement roadmap. Profound covers the first five directly and the sixth only partially.

The consensus index for this category is AI Search Audits for Regulated Industries, which lists the providers evaluated under the same prompt and criteria.

The Product, Model, Plan, or Service Most Relevant to AI Search Audits for Regulated Industries

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which Profound plan should a regulated buyer choose for AI search audits, and does the $99 Starter plan cover enough engines?
  • Does Profound's Answer Engine Insights include FactCheck for monitoring regulated claims?

The relevant product is Answer Engine Insights, deployed on Profound Enterprise or an Agency plan. Every platform that named a product pointed to Answer Engine Insights, and six of seven recommended an enterprise or agency deployment rather than a self-serve tier (openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, google). Kimi named Answer Engine Insights with Enterprise or Agency plans but could not verify compliance-grade features from retrieved sources.

Answer Engine Insights is the measurement surface. Official documentation describes prompt-driven analysis covering visibility, citations, sentiment, FactCheck, share of voice, and average position [8]. A second documentation page describes citation share, citation coverage, ranked cited domains, citation categories, competitor comparisons, and prompt-level metrics [9]. FactCheck compares model claims against a connected knowledge base, identifies inaccurate claims and the source URLs associated with them, and suggests outreach actions [10]. Official FactCheck documentation lists product specifications, pricing, policies, safety claims, features, and service terms as suitable fact-based prompt examples [11] — the categories a regulated buyer would most want monitored.

Plan structure matters because the self-serve tiers are narrow. Starter is $99/month billed yearly with ChatGPT tracking only, 50 prompts, and 100 Agent credits per month; Growth is $399/month billed yearly with three answer engines, 100 prompts, and 400 Agent credits per month; Enterprise is custom-priced [12]. Independent summaries broadly agree on the $99 and $399 figures but differ on details: one reports Starter at 1 seat, 1 language, and 1 region [13], another reports Growth at 3 seats with no API access and no SSO [14], and a third reports Growth at 9,000 responses monthly (anthropic). Perplexity reported that independent sources disagree on whether self-serve pricing is monthly or billed yearly [15]. Buyers should treat the tier boundaries as unconfirmed until quoted.

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions This Section Answers

  • What do AI platforms agree Profound does well for regulated-industry AI search audits?
  • Does Profound measure citation share and competitor visibility across AI answer engines?

Platforms agreed on measurement breadth. All seven described some form of visibility, citation, or competitor measurement, and the strongest agreement was on citation and source-domain analysis. Official documentation supports citation share, citation coverage, ranked cited domains, and citation categories [16], and independent reviewers describe citation source breakdown and platform-specific performance [17]. One independent review states Profound analyzes 240 million ChatGPT citations and 2.6 billion AI citations [18]; that figure is platform-reported through a third-party review and was not independently validated.

Platforms also agreed on enterprise controls. The public Enterprise pricing page lists SSO/SAML, SOC 2 compliance, dedicated Slack support, multiple companies, tailored prompt tracking, and up to nine answer engines [19]. Independent reviewers describe SOC 2 Type II, SSO, and RBAC as part of an enterprise security posture [20], and one review states Profound achieved HIPAA compliance through independent assessment by Sensiba LLP for healthcare, pharma, and life sciences [21]. Company-owned pages state the same HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II positions [22]. These are company claims and third-party restatements, not independent verification of control effectiveness.

A third area of agreement was the measurement-versus-execution boundary. Independent reviewers describe Profound as an analytics and measurement layer rather than a full execution service [24], note that it logs AI citation share daily but offers no CMS execution [25], and state that execution of recommendations often remains a manual task for the client [26]. One review puts it plainly: Profound excels at monitoring but its execution offering is limited [27]. This agreement cuts both ways for a regulated buyer: it confirms the audit layer is real, and it confirms the remediation layer is not included.

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Profound HIPAA and SOC 2 compliant enough for a regulated AI search audit, or is compliance unverified?
  • How much does Profound Enterprise cost per month for a regulated deployment?

Compliance verification is the sharpest disagreement. Google and grok rated Profound a strong fit and cited HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II as differentiators [28]. Anthropic rated it mixed and flagged that the HIPAA certification scope is unclear — specifically whether it covers data access auditing, user login logging, and ePHI tracking under 45 C.F.R. § 164.312(b), or only brand visibility monitoring. Kimi rated it uncertain, stating that no retrieved 2026 source confirmed SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR DPA, or EU AI Act documentation, and comparing it unfavorably to a vendor that ships zero data retention and bring-your-own-cloud by default [31]. Deepseek reported no public compliance certification list on the site [33]. Perplexity reported that SOC 2 and SSO/SAML claims appear in independent reviews but were not confirmed on the official pricing page in the material checked [34]. OpenAI noted that the official page describes SOC 2 compliance but that the report type, audit period, scope, trust-service criteria, and customer-access process are not confirmed by the cited materials.

Enterprise pricing is the second disagreement. No official Enterprise price is published. Third-party estimates range from roughly $1,000/month [36] to $2,000–$5,000+ per month [37]. One independent review reports that if the AEO budget is under roughly $2,000/month, Profound is probably not the customer it is built for. These are estimates, not quotes.

Engine coverage is the third uncertainty. One independent review states Profound tracks brands across 11 AI surfaces including ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, Gemini, Google AI Overviews, Copilot, Grok, Meta AI, DeepSeek, and Amazon Rufus [39]. Official documentation states Profound queries front-end experiences from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, Copilot, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Grok, and DeepSeek [40]. The public pricing page caps Enterprise at up to nine answer engines [41]. OpenAI explicitly flagged that the number and identity of supported engines can vary by plan and may change. Buyers should confirm the exact engine list for their account rather than relying on any single count.

Use-Case-Specific Features and Capabilities

Questions This Section Answers

  • Does Profound support citation measurement, competitor benchmarking, and source-domain analysis for regulated AI search audits?
  • Can Profound export audit evidence in CSV or JSON for internal compliance review?

Recommendation and visibility analysis is a documented advantage. Answer Engine Insights runs structured prompts across supported answer engines and reports visibility, share of voice, average position, sentiment, and competitive presence, with prompt sets organizable by topic, tag, platform, region, or persona [42]. Independent reviewers describe visibility scoring, share of voice, sentiment, keyword insights, and competitor comparisons [43], and one describes Share of Voice as the proportion of citations versus competitors [44].

Mention and citation measurement is the strongest documented capability. The product measures whether a brand appears in answers and how often domains are cited, with Citation Share, Citation Coverage, citation ranks, citation categories, and cited-source tables [45]. Independent reviewers describe Citation Authority as a measure of source quality and consistency in AI citations [46] and Prominence as the position of the brand within generated answers [47].

Competitor benchmarking and source-domain analysis are supported. Answer Engine Insights supports comparison by competitors, platforms, topics, tags, regions, and personas, including visibility and citation-share comparisons [45]. The Citations tab ranks cited domains and classifies sources such as owned properties, competitors, earned media, and custom categories [45]. OpenAI noted that source influence is measured through observed answer-engine citations rather than a guaranteed causal model of authority.

Factual-accuracy gap analysis is where regulated buyers get the most specific value. FactCheck compares model claims with a connected knowledge base and identifies citation URLs associated with inaccurate information [48]. Independent coverage describes FactCheck comparing AI claims against brand ground truth, calculating an overall accuracy score, and tracing errors back to specific URLs [49], and notes that it flags discrepancies with sentiment tracking by theme [50].

Auditability and export are partially supported. Prompt and topic data can be exported in CSV or JSON with fields including visibility, average position, citation share, citation ranks, executions, and prompt volume [51]. Independent reviewers confirm CSV export [52]. OpenAI disclosed that public documentation does not specify retention periods, immutable audit logs, or regulator-ready chain-of-custody controls. One company page states daily backups with secure storage retained for one week [53] — a short window that regulated buyers should weigh against their evidence-retention requirements.

Coverage and sampling are limited by configuration. Results are based on Profound's configured prompt runs and supported answer engines, and prompt limits, engine availability, regions, personas, and daily execution frequency vary by plan [54]. Independent reviewers state that prompt quality is the biggest dependency, that auto-generated prompts are not good enough to rely on entirely, and that manual refinement is needed for accurate, meaningful insights [55]. One review states the tool is only as good as the prompts fed into it [58].

Agent Analytics is a secondary capability with known gaps. It connects to CDN or hosting providers to analyze AI crawler behavior [59], and one company page describes integration with Google Cloud Platform Cloud CDN [61]. Independent reviewers report that it shows page categories rather than exact URLs [62], that this specificity gap is meaningful [64], that CDN integration is required [65], and that Shopify-hosted brands historically could not access it [66]. Anthropic flagged the current support matrix as uncertain post-2026.

Pricing, Fees, Contracts, and Ongoing Costs

Questions This Section Answers

  • How much does Profound cost per month, and is annual billing required for Starter and Growth?
  • What extra fees should a regulated buyer expect beyond the Profound subscription price?

Public pricing covers two self-serve tiers and leaves Enterprise custom. Starter is $99/month billed yearly with ChatGPT tracking only, 50 prompts, and 100 Agent credits per month; Growth is $399/month billed yearly with three answer engines, 100 prompts, and 400 Agent credits per month; Enterprise is custom-priced with up to nine answer engines, multiple companies, tailored prompt tracking, dedicated Slack support, SSO/SAML, and SOC 2 compliance [67]. Independent summaries report the same $99 and $399 figures [68].

Billing cadence is disputed. OpenAI states Starter and Growth are billed yearly. Anthropic states self-serve plans are billed annually only with no published monthly option and a two-months-free promotional structure. Google states standard self-serve plans are billed monthly. Perplexity reports that independent sources disagree on whether self-serve pricing is monthly or billed yearly. This conflict is unresolved in the supplied evidence and should be confirmed in writing before purchase.

Enterprise cost is estimated, not published. Third-party reviews place enterprise deployments at $2,000 to $5,000+ per month [71], while one community discussion reports enterprise historically starting around $1,000/month [73]. OpenAI states Enterprise pricing is not publicly disclosed and may vary with prompt volume, regions, personas, engines, companies, agency workspaces, and Agent usage.

Additional fees are only partly documented. Agent usage is credit-based, and additional credit thresholds require an Enterprise package according to the public pricing page [67]. One official pricing excerpt states the self-serve Agency Growth plan comes with 400 credits per month per client workspace and that additional credit thresholds require an Enterprise package (official:C2). Google reports a $399/month add-on fee per client workspace for agencies on specific configurations and overage fees when Agent credit allowances are exhausted. OpenAI states implementation, data integration, consulting, and agency-service fees are not publicly specified.

Contract terms are largely undisclosed. OpenAI states that cancellation, refund, renewal, notice, service-level, and termination terms are not clearly stated on the cited pricing page, and that Enterprise contract duration, minimum commitment, renewal mechanics, SLA, support response commitments, data deletion, and exit terms are unclear. Anthropic reports no published cancellation or early-termination policy found in public sources. Perplexity reports enterprise and custom appear sales-led and quote-based, with cancellation terms not clearly verified.

Best Suited For

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which regulated companies get the most value from Profound's Answer Engine Insights?
  • Is Profound worth it for an agency managing multiple regulated clients?

Profound is best suited to large regulated brands with dedicated teams and enterprise budgets. OpenAI describes the best fit as large regulated brands with dedicated SEO, communications, content, reputation, or digital-governance teams, plus organizations auditing how AI answer engines describe products, policies, safety claims, pricing, or service terms. Anthropic describes the best fit as enterprise regulated-industry brands in healthcare, finance, and pharma with dedicated internal AEO teams, multi-quarter timelines, and budget for $2,000–$5,000+/month custom deployments. Google describes the best fit as healthcare, life sciences, and financial enterprises requiring strict security compliance and brands facing reputational or compliance risk from inaccurate AI claims.

Agencies are a documented secondary fit. Official agency documentation describes Answer Engine Insights, competitor and brand visibility, cited-source analysis, multiple answer engines, and centralized agency management [74]. OpenAI lists agencies managing multiple regulated clients and needing centralized benchmarking, exports, and client workspaces among the best-fit profiles. Anthropic cautions that agencies managing multiple regulated-client brands face workspace sprawl and multi-tenant cost accumulation.

The common thread is a buyer who already has execution capacity. One independent review states Profound is the right call for a Fortune 500 with a dedicated AEO team needing server-log data and SOC 2 support [75]. Another states that if the team wants clearer guidance on what to change and how to measure, a more execution-focused workflow may be needed [76].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions This Section Answers

  • Who should not choose Profound for AI Search Audits for Regulated Industries?
  • Is Profound a bad fit for a small regulated team with a limited budget?

Profound is probably not the right choice for buyers who need remediation, formal regulatory assurance, or transparent low-cost pricing. OpenAI states it is not best for small teams needing only basic ChatGPT monitoring at low cost, buyers requiring a formal regulatory compliance certification or legal sign-off, or organizations seeking a tool that directly implements technical SEO or content changes. Anthropic states it is not best for teams expecting integrated audit plus remediation, regulated industries needing detailed audit trails of AI interaction data for HIPAA or FINRA compliance reporting, organizations requiring published transparent pricing or monthly billing flexibility, mid-market or smaller regulated entities, and teams needing clarity on which engines and features are included at each tier.

The execution gap is the most consistently cited disqualifier. Independent reviewers state that schema updates, metadata changes, and content refreshes happen in a separate tool [77], that the gap between insight and execution is a core architectural limitation [78], and that Profound logs AI citation share daily but offers no CMS execution [79]. One review states Profound is an analytics and measurement layer, not a full execution service [80].

Budget is a hard filter. One independent review states that if the AEO budget is under roughly $2,000/month, Profound is probably not the customer it is built for. The Starter tier at $99/month tracks ChatGPT only and is best read as a single-engine plan rather than a smaller version of the full product [81].

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions This Section Answers

  • What is a better alternative to Profound for a regulated buyer who needs audit plus content execution in one platform?
  • When should a regulated buyer choose a lower-cost AI visibility tool instead of Profound?

Another option may be better in three recurring situations. First, when the buyer needs integrated audit and execution in one platform. Anthropic names Scalenut, Searchable, and AEO Engine as offering content creation, optimization, and publishing alongside visibility tracking. Google names Rankability and AthenaHQ as better fits for an all-in-one SEO and AEO product, and Simaia or Vismore as better fits for a hands-off, done-for-you content placement service. OpenAI suggests a lower-cost AI visibility platform when the buyer needs only basic monitoring, a small prompt set, or a few engines without enterprise controls.

Second, when the buyer needs formal regulatory evidence or strict data controls. Anthropic suggests a specialist compliance-monitoring workflow when the buyer requires formal legal review, validated regulatory evidence, immutable records, strict data residency, or domain-specific approval controls. Kimi suggests purpose-built compliance platforms when audit readiness is non-negotiable, citing zero data retention and bring-your-own-cloud as gating criteria. OpenAI suggests an SEO or content-governance suite when the primary requirement is technical implementation, content workflow, CMS integration, or broader conventional search analytics.

Third, when the buyer needs published pricing before sales contact. Perplexity states a more transparent alternative may be better if fixed public pricing and contract terms are required before sales contact. Deepseek suggests other platforms with published plan pricing when a low-cost self-serve tool with transparent monthly pricing is the priority.

Questions to Verify Before Buying

Questions This Section Answers

  • What should a regulated buyer confirm with Profound before signing an Enterprise contract?
  • Does Profound's HIPAA certification cover data access auditing, or only brand visibility monitoring?

The supplied research produced a consistent verification list across platforms. Buyers should confirm the following in writing before committing.

Scope and coverage: which exact answer engines, AI search surfaces, countries, languages, regions, personas, and prompt volumes are included in the proposed Enterprise or Agency package (openai). Which engines and features are included at each published tier, and which are enterprise-only (anthropic). Whether Prompt Volumes real-user data is anonymized and consent-compliant enough for regulated workflows (anthropic).

Data handling: whether regulated or confidential prompts, uploaded knowledge-base documents, answer outputs, and connected analytics data are used for model training or shared with subprocessors (openai). Data residency, encryption, retention, deletion, backup, incident-notification, and subprocessor terms (openai). Whether zero data retention is available by default or as a configurable option, and whether queries can be processed in the buyer's own cloud environment (kimi).

Compliance evidence: what precisely the stated SOC 2 compliance covers, and whether the buyer can review the report, bridge letter, controls, and security questionnaire (openai). Whether the HIPAA certification covers data access auditing, user login logs, and ePHI interaction tracking under 45 C.F.R. § 164.312(b), or only brand visibility monitoring, and what audit-trail evidence Profound can generate for compliance reviews (anthropic). Whether Profound offers FINRA compliance certification or only HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II (anthropic). Whether Profound will sign a Business Associate Agreement for the specific deployment (google).

Auditability and integration: whether the contract includes SSO/SAML, RBAC, audit logs, API access, exports, immutable history, and administrator controls (openai). How prompts are sampled, refreshed, deduplicated, localized, and versioned, and whether historical results can be preserved for audits (openai). Whether FactCheck can use multiple approved sources of truth, maintain document versions, show reviewer decisions, and export evidence suitable for internal compliance review (openai). Whether Profound integrates with the buyer's CMS, DAM, knowledge-management, ticketing, SIEM, GRC, or approval systems without exposing restricted data (openai). Whether Agent Analytics CDN integration supports the buyer's hosting platform (anthropic).

Commercial terms: the price for additional prompts, engines, regions, personas, companies, Agent credits, API usage, implementation, and professional services (openai). Whether annual commitments are required, and what renewal, cancellation, refund, termination, data-export, and post-termination deletion terms apply (openai). The SLA, support response times, uptime commitments, escalation process, and service credits (openai). Whether pricing is monthly, annual, or both, and what the committed minimum is for enterprise (perplexity).

Final AI Consensus Verdict

Profound is a good fit for AI Search Audits for Regulated Industries, with a verification burden that buyers must carry themselves. Two of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery at an average rank of 1.5, and all seven evaluated its fit. Platform verdicts split: strong (google, grok), good (openai, deepseek, perplexity), mixed (anthropic), and uncertain (kimi). That spread reflects a real evidence gap rather than a quality dispute — the measurement capabilities are consistently described, while compliance scope, pricing, and contract terms are not.

The strongest case for Profound is Answer Engine Insights plus FactCheck. It measures visibility, mentions, citations, citation share, citation coverage, ranked cited domains, competitor comparisons, and source categories [83], and it compares AI claims against a connected knowledge base to surface inaccurate claims and their source URLs [85]. For a regulated buyer auditing how AI answer engines describe products, policies, pricing, safety claims, and service terms, that is a direct match to the audit criteria.

The strongest case against is scope. Profound diagnoses; it does not remediate, does not perform legal or regulatory review, and does not guarantee correction of AI answers. Enterprise pricing is unpublished, third-party estimates span roughly $1,000 to $5,000+ per month, billing cadence is disputed across sources, and contract terms are largely undisclosed. Compliance claims are company-owned or third-party restatements rather than independently verified control evidence. Purchase should be contingent on security, data-processing, auditability, sampling, pricing, and contractual verification.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced from seven platform research responses collected for the run research date 2026-09-18, using the topic prompt on AI search audit providers for regulated industries. Each platform evaluated Profound against the same use case and criteria: recommendation analysis, mention and citation measurement, competitor benchmarking, influential source-domain analysis, content and authority gaps, and prioritized improvement roadmap. Two platforms named Profound during ranking discovery; all seven produced fit research. Platform verdicts, strengths, limitations, pricing findings, and verification questions were aggregated without resolving conflicts between sources. Citations are platform-reported evidence and were not independently validated at the writing stage. The category directory for this research is ai search audits market intelligence.

Methodology Limitations

Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date. Six platforms reported 2026-09-18; deepseek reported 2026-04-08, roughly five months earlier. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Platform mentions count only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery. Five of seven platforms did not name Profound in the ranking stage but still evaluated its fit, so the 28.6% share reflects ranking visibility, not evaluation coverage.

Conflicts were preserved rather than resolved. Sources disagree on billing cadence (monthly versus annual), on Enterprise pricing estimates ($1,000 to $5,000+ per month), on engine counts (nine versus eleven versus a named list of nine), and on compliance verification. Buyers should treat all of these as open questions.

Compliance claims are not independently verified. HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II statements originate from company-owned pages and third-party restatements. No supplied source provides the SOC 2 report, its scope, audit period, trust-service criteria, or customer-access process. No supplied source establishes contractual data retention, deletion, residency, encryption, subprocessors, or regulated-data restrictions.

No supplied source establishes guaranteed correction of AI answers, guaranteed rankings, or guaranteed compliance outcomes. Prompt-based measurement is probabilistic and plan-limited, and observed outputs should not be treated as a complete census of all AI answers or user experiences.

The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writing stage. Deepseek's research was conducted with search disabled per the supplied capability record, so its findings should be weighted accordingly.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
September 18, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
46
Ranking mentions
2 of 7
Platform share
29%
Final consensus rank
#3

Research trail and source mix

Configured platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

28 independent · 18 company-owned

Evidence support

19 direct · 7 partial

Important limitation

Use the run research_date as the study date. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Source snapshot SHA-256 4d6894604ec896ea72030678e559e053db374102d5b7984b8bad0acf4922f2e6