One marketing need. Multiple leading AI platforms. One transparent consensus. How it works
AI MarketingConsensus Index

AI Consensus Index

Best AI Citation Audit Services

Profound is the consensus leader for AI Citation Audit Services in this 7-platform study, named by 3 of 7 platforms at an average listed position of 1.0 and a best position of 1.

Research: 2026-09-177 usable platform responsesRead the methodology ↗

Answer Capsule

Profound is the consensus leader for AI Citation Audit Services in this 7-platform study, named by 3 of 7 platforms at an average listed position of 1.0 and a best position of 1. Revenue Experts AI, AthenaHQ, The Enough Agency, and OtterlyAI follow, each named by 3 platforms. BeCited, AuditAE, Semrush, and CiteScore qualified with 2 mentions each. The strongest alternatives for distinct buyer needs are Revenue Experts AI for one-time human-validated audits, AuditAE for pay-per-check low-commitment monitoring, BeCited for founder-reviewed fixed-fee audits, and Semrush for teams already inside an SEO suite. The principal limitation: this index reflects one standardized prompt sent once to each of seven AI platforms on 2026-09-17, and platform answers are market intelligence, not independent customer reviews or proof of quality. Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations for most entities.

Research Snapshot

  • Topic: AI Citation Audit Services — independent audits of a company's AI citation footprint, cited pages, competitor citation coverage, dominant category sources, citation architecture, and authority gaps.
  • Target buyer: Companies seeking AI Citation Audit Services across AI search, generative-answer, and recommendation platforms, United States, 2026.
  • Platforms included (7): openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google.
  • Research date: 2026-09-17 (authoritative run date). Platform-reported research dates differ: deepseek reported 2026-01-15 for Profound, AthenaHQ, Semrush, and CiteScore; 2026-06-11 for Revenue Experts AI, OtterlyAI, and AuditAE; 2026-02-14 for The Enough Agency and BeCited. These are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.
  • Unique entities named: 45.
  • Qualifying entities: 9.
  • Eligibility rule: named by at least two platforms during ranking discovery.
  • Method: one standardized prompt sent once to each included platform. Platform mentions count only ranking-discovery mentions, not the number of platforms that later completed a fit assessment.

The Consensus Ranking

Questions This Section Answers

  • What are the best AI citation audit services in 2026 for a company that wants an independent audit of its AI citation footprint?
  • Which AI citation audit providers were named by the most AI platforms, and how often did each appear?
  • Which AI citation audit service should a buyer shortlist first if they want the strongest cross-platform consensus?

The table below is the sole authority for rank, platform mentions, platform share, average listed position, and best position. It contains exactly one row per qualifying entity, in final ranking order.

RankEntityPlatform mentionsAverage listed positionBest positionBest considered for
1Profound31.001Enterprise marketing, SEO, communications, and digital teams needing recurring AI citation monitoring.; Companies auditing cited URLs, domains, competitor sources, citation gaps, and citation-share trends.; Organizations needing multi-engine tracking, benchmarking, governance, and enterprise support.
2Revenue Experts AI31.671B2B SaaS and other companies wanting a fixed-scope baseline audit of AI-search visibility.; Marketing or revenue teams that need human-reviewed citation validation and an actionable improvement plan.; Buyers prioritizing competitor benchmarking and source-level explanation over a recurring software dashboard.
3AthenaHQ33.002Marketing, SEO, content, PR, and enterprise teams monitoring AI visibility across multiple answer engines; Companies wanting citation analysis combined with content-gap and optimization workflows; Enterprise buyers needing ACE, recommendation workflows, multi-region support, SSO, audit logs, or BI integrations
4The Enough Agency34.672Companies wanting a one-time or customized audit with human interpretation and implementation recommendations.; Marketing, content, PR, or SEO teams needing competitor citation comparisons and source-authority gap analysis.; Enterprise or regulated-market buyers willing to scope engines, prompts, evidence depth, and reporting through a strategy call.
5OtterlyAI35.673Marketing and SEO teams monitoring AI-search visibility across major generative-answer platforms; Companies needing daily prompt, citation, competitor, domain-coverage, and historical tracking; Agencies or enterprises requiring reports, API/MCP access, multiple users, country monitoring, or custom prompt volumes
6BeCited22.001One-time U.S. AI-search citation baseline audits; Marketing teams needing manually reviewed buying-intent prompts and prioritized remediation; Companies wanting a fixed-price audit plus optional quarterly remeasurement
7AuditAE22.002One-time or periodic AI citation audits; SMB, founder, SEO, and agency teams needing pay-as-you-go monitoring; Prompt-level competitor and cited-URL comparisons across four AI search surfaces
8Semrush22.502Marketing and SEO teams needing recurring AI visibility and citation monitoring.; Companies comparing their AI citations, mentions, prompts, and source coverage with competitors.; Organizations wanting AI citation data connected to site audits, SEO data, content workflows, and reporting.
9CiteScore25.004Companies wanting a one-time citation landscape and presence-gap audit.; Marketing teams needing recurring AI recommendation and citation tracking.; Agencies needing white-label reporting and multiple client brands.

Which Option Is Best for Which Version of the Buyer Need?

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which AI citation audit service should a buyer choose if they need a one-time human-validated audit rather than a recurring software subscription?
  • Is Profound or AuditAE better for AI citation auditing when budget predictability and low commitment matter most?
  • Which AI citation audit provider is best for an agency managing multiple client brands on a fixed budget?
Buyer needBest-fit optionWhy, from the evidence
Recurring enterprise citation monitoring with governanceProfoundNamed by 3 platforms at average position 1.0; enterprise plan publicly described with SSO/SAML, SOC 2, multi-company support, and tailored prompt tracking
One-time, human-validated baseline auditRevenue Experts AIFixed-scope audit with human review gates on prompt quality and citation validation, cited-page claim checking, and a prioritized AEO improvement plan
One-time audit with founder-level manual reviewBeCited100–300 buying-intent prompts across four engines, every citation personally reviewed, $2,000 one-time with one-week turnaround [e6:official:C1]
Lowest-commitment, pay-per-check auditingAuditAE$0.05 per prompt × engine check, $5 free credit, no subscription, no card required [e7:official:C2]
Integrated SEO + AI citation workflowSemrushAI Visibility Toolkit at $99/month per domain billed annually, 25 tracked prompts, competitor research against up to four domains
Agency white-label and multi-client reportingCiteScoreAgency plan at $299/month including three client brands, unlimited seats, branded PDF reports [e9:official:C2]
Broad multi-engine monitoring with action layerAthenaHQStarter plan publicly lists 11 models including ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta.

1. Profound

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Profound worth it for AI citation audit services, and what are its main drawbacks?
  • Which AI citation audit platform should an enterprise choose if it needs SOC 2 compliance, SSO, and multi-engine citation tracking?
  • What does Profound cost for AI citation auditing, and which features are gated behind the Enterprise plan?

Profound is the consensus leader in this study: named by 3 of 7 platforms, ranked first by all three that named it, and the only entity with an average listed position of 1.0. Platform fit ratings ranged from strong (openai, google, grok) to good (anthropic, deepseek) to mixed (perplexity) and uncertain (kimi), which is the widest spread of any top-five entity. The Profound fit review covers the full evidence set.

Why it ranked here. Profound was named by openai, deepseek, and google, and each placed it first. No other entity in this index received three first-place rankings. Its public materials describe prompt-level citation tracking, cited URL and domain analysis, competitor citation comparison, citation-share trend tracking, and benchmarking against a large aggregated network [1].

Best suited for. Enterprise marketing, SEO, communications, and digital teams needing recurring AI citation monitoring; companies auditing cited URLs, domains, competitor sources, citation gaps, and citation-share trends; organizations needing multi-engine tracking, benchmarking, governance, and enterprise support.

Main strengths for this use case. Profound directly measures citations and cited-source behavior rather than only generic brand mentions. It supports competitor citation comparisons and prompt-level citation-gap analysis, includes citation-share trend tracking and citation-relationship visualization, and offers benchmarking against a large aggregated network with enterprise-oriented support and governance features [1]. Anthropic-reported evidence describes daily citation collection across 10+ answer engines with URL and domain-level granularity, citation source classification (Owned, Competitor, Earned Media, PR Wire, Social, Institution), and automatic gap analysis surfacing 10–50 missing high-value prompts on Enterprise plans [4]. Google-reported evidence describes a Chunk-Level Citation Audit agent that splits on-page content into retrievable passages and scores each for citation-worthiness [6].

Main limitations. Enterprise pricing, prompt allowances, historical-retention limits, and exact engine coverage are not publicly specified [7]. Benchmarking depends on opt-in network participation and may not represent the entire U.S. market or every relevant category [2]. Citation and visibility metrics are observational; public evidence does not prove causal impact on recommendations, conversions, or revenue [1]. Public materials do not establish universal coverage of all AI search, generative-answer, shopping, or recommendation platforms. Whether Profound provides a managed, analyst-led audit with deliverables is unclear [7].

Pricing or cost summary. Public pricing lists Starter at $99 per month billed yearly and Growth at $399 per month billed yearly, with two months free shown for annual billing; Enterprise pricing is custom [7][e1:official:C2]. Anthropic-reported evidence describes Starter as ChatGPT-only with 50 prompts and one seat, Growth as three engines with 100 prompts, and Enterprise as custom with third-party reports indicating $2,000–$5,000+ per month depending on engine count, seats, and features [8]. Profound Agents use a separate credit-based model on top of platform pricing [e1:official:C2]. .

2. Revenue Experts AI

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Revenue Experts AI worth it for a one-time AI citation audit, and what are its main drawbacks?
  • Which AI citation audit service should a B2B SaaS company choose if it needs human-validated citation checking rather than automated counting?
  • What does the Revenue Experts AI citation audit cost, and which AI engines does it cover?

Revenue Experts AI ranked second with 3 platform mentions and an average listed position of 1.67, including first-place rankings from anthropic and kimi. It is the strongest one-time, human-reviewed audit option in this index. The Revenue Experts AI fit review covers the full evidence set.

Why it ranked here. It was named by anthropic, grok, and kimi, with anthropic and kimi placing it first. Its public method describes running buyer prompts through ChatGPT, Claude, and Perplexity with live web search and repeated runs, extracting citations, opening each cited page, and scoring whether the page fully, partly, or does not support the AI claim [10].

Best suited for. B2B SaaS and other companies wanting a fixed-scope baseline audit of AI-search visibility; marketing or revenue teams needing human-reviewed citation validation and an actionable improvement plan; buyers prioritizing competitor benchmarking and source-level explanation over a recurring software dashboard.

Main strengths for this use case. Direct measurement across three major AI answer platforms rather than relying only on conventional SEO metrics. Prompt-level extraction and validation of cited pages against the claims attributed to them. Competitor benchmarking, citation-stability analysis, source-gap analysis, and prioritized recommendations. The fixed-scope, one-time engagement may suit buyers that need a baseline without adopting another recurring software platform [10]. Google-reported evidence describes 50 buyer-intent prompts across 10 prompt types, executed three times each across engines to observe variance [12].

Main limitations. No ongoing tracking or continuously updated dashboard is included in the stated audit. Platform coverage excludes Gemini in the current method and does not establish coverage for Copilot, Bing, Google AI Overviews, or smaller recommendation platforms [10]. Public evidence is primarily company-published; independent validation of accuracy, repeatability, customer outcomes, and recommendation impact was not found. The public materials contain inconsistent prices and methodology counts across pages. The service appears optimized for B2B buyer-intent research rather than every AI recommendation or discovery use case.

Pricing or cost summary. The current AI Citation Audit page lists a one-time price of $995 with no retainer and a stated 5–7 business-day turnaround [e2:official:C1]. Other company pages describe earlier or differently packaged prices of $497 and $1,497, and anthropic-reported evidence cites $1,495 for the AI Visibility Audit, so the currently applicable price and scope should be confirmed before purchase [13]. Google-reported evidence also cites a free 60-second AI Visibility Audit as an entry point [15].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings split sharply: strong from google and grok, good from openai and perplexity, mixed from anthropic, and uncertain from deepseek and kimi. Deepseek found no publicly verifiable methodology, deliverable sample, prompt volumes, platform coverage list, or data-source disclosure, and no independent reviews or third-party case studies [16].

3. AthenaHQ

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is AthenaHQ worth it for AI citation auditing, and which features are locked to the Enterprise plan?
  • Which AI citation audit platform should a buyer choose if they need citation tracking across 11 AI models at a self-serve tier?
  • How does AthenaHQ's credit-based pricing work for AI citation monitoring, and what does the Starter plan include?

AthenaHQ ranked third with 3 platform mentions and an average listed position of 3.0, including second-place rankings from deepseek and google. It offers the broadest publicly listed self-serve engine coverage in this index. The AthenaHQ fit review covers the full evidence set.

Why it ranked here. It was named by deepseek, google, and openai, with deepseek and google placing it second. Its Starter plan publicly lists ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI, and Mistral, with additional models available upon request [18].

Best suited for. Marketing, SEO, content, PR, and enterprise teams monitoring AI visibility across multiple answer engines; companies wanting citation analysis combined with content-gap and optimization workflows; enterprise buyers needing ACE, recommendation workflows, multi-region support, SSO, audit logs, or BI integrations.

Main strengths for this use case. Broad listed coverage across major AI search and generative-answer platforms. Combines citation and source monitoring with competitor benchmarking and content-gap recommendations. The Enterprise tier is explicitly positioned for ACE, claim review, discrepancy detection, recommendation workflows, governance, and BI reporting. Published pricing gives buyers a visible self-serve entry point rather than requiring an entirely custom sales process [18]. Google-reported evidence describes the Athena Citation Engine (ACE) as a machine learning model trained on millions of LLM results that predicts the probability specific content will be cited [19].

Main limitations. ACE and the Athena Recommendation Engine appear restricted to Enterprise, limiting access to the most citation-audit-specific features. Credit consumption can become material as prompt volume and engine count increase. Public materials do not fully document citation parsing accuracy, URL-level export structure, historical retention, or sampling methodology. Independent evidence is limited and includes a competitor-produced review, so performance claims should not be treated as neutral validation. AI visibility and citation metrics are measurements of sampled or simulated responses and should not be treated as guaranteed real-world exposure or revenue attribution [18].

Pricing or cost summary. Public pricing shows a free Essential tier with $25 free credit and 300 credits, a Starter tier at $295 per month with $300 free credit and 3,600 credits, and custom-priced Enterprise [e3:official:C1][e3:official:C2]. API access and extra credits are listed as paid add-ons for Starter, with add-on pricing available on request [e3:official:C2]. Anthropic-reported evidence describes annual billing at a 17% discount and anecdotal Enterprise entry around $2,000+ per month [21].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (google, grok) to good (anthropic, openai) to mixed (deepseek, perplexity) and uncertain (kimi). Deepseek found that the specific audit criteria and pricing/terms are not verifiable from public sources reviewed and recommended treating AthenaHQ as a trial-and-verify candidate [22].

4. The Enough Agency

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is The Enough Agency worth it for AI citation auditing, and why is its pricing not published?
  • Which AI citation audit provider should an enterprise choose if it wants analyst-led prompt testing across six AI engines?
  • What does The Enough Agency charge for AI visibility packages, and which package includes citation auditing?

The Enough Agency ranked fourth with 3 platform mentions and an average listed position of 4.67, including a second-place ranking from perplexity. It is the most explicitly service-led, analyst-driven option in the top five. The The Enough Agency fit review covers the full evidence set.

Why it ranked here. It was named by google, grok, and perplexity. Its citation auditing service publicly describes testing ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Copilot, and Google AI Overviews, with engine-level analysis rather than averaging all engines together, and deliverables including a prompt and engine matrix, citation source grid, competitor citation benchmark, authority-signal analysis, and an action roadmap [23].

Best suited for. Companies wanting a one-time or customized audit with human interpretation and implementation recommendations; marketing, content, PR, or SEO teams needing competitor citation comparisons and source-authority gap analysis; enterprise or regulated-market buyers willing to scope engines, prompts, evidence depth, and reporting through a strategy call.

Main strengths for this use case. An explicit service dedicated to citation auditing rather than only general brand visibility. Broad stated coverage of major AI answer engines relevant to United States buyers. Prompt-level source grids, cited-output evidence, competitor citation benchmarking, and action prioritization align closely with the requested use case. Publicly stated repeated-measurement and source-churn concepts support ongoing visibility analysis, subject to contract confirmation [23]. Google-reported evidence describes entity graph mapping side-by-side with competitors to identify why rivals are being cited [24].

Main limitations. The public site does not publish a dedicated Citation Auditing rate card or a complete scope matrix linking the service to Starter, Growth, Scale, or retainer plans. Historical tracking is described but operational details such as cadence, retention, baselines, alerts, exports, and dashboard access are not disclosed publicly. Claims about coverage and capabilities are company-reported and were not independently validated in the reviewed sources. The offering appears broader than auditing alone and may include AEO, content, authority, PR, entity, schema, or implementation work that increases scope and cost. No public guarantee should be inferred that citations, recommendations, rankings, traffic, pipeline, or revenue will improve [23].

Pricing or cost summary. Public pricing shows fixed-price AI-visibility packages rather than a separately itemized Citation Auditing price: Consultation $199, Starter $999 one-time, Growth $1,999 one-time, Scale $3,999 one-time, and a bespoke retainer for custom programs [e4:official:C1][e4:official:C2]. Global press-wire releases are listed at $399 per release and India press-wire releases at $199 per release. It is unclear which package, if any, includes the full Citation Auditing service and its specified deliverables [23]. Google-reported evidence cites an estimated $1,000 setup fee plus $1,500–$2,500 per month for tiered services [25].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (google, grok) to good (anthropic, openai, perplexity) to uncertain (deepseek, kimi).

5. OtterlyAI

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is OtterlyAI worth it for AI citation auditing, and what are the main limitations of its weekly data refresh?
  • Which AI citation audit platform should a buyer choose if they need daily prompt tracking across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, and Copilot at a low entry price?
  • What does OtterlyAI cost for AI citation monitoring, and which engines require paid add-ons?

OtterlyAI ranked fifth with 3 platform mentions and an average listed position of 5.67, including a third-place ranking from openai. It has the most transparent published pricing of any entity in this index. The OtterlyAI fit review covers the full evidence set.

Why it ranked here. It was named by deepseek, google, and openai. Its public materials describe prompt-level coverage, mentions, rankings, sentiment, and cited pages, with API documentation stating that prompt-level coverage and citation sources are available programmatically [26].

Best suited for. Marketing and SEO teams monitoring AI-search visibility across major generative-answer platforms; companies needing daily prompt, citation, competitor, domain-coverage, and historical tracking; agencies or enterprises requiring reports, API/MCP access, multiple users, country monitoring, or custom prompt volumes.

Main strengths for this use case. Strong documented emphasis on URL- and domain-level citation tracking. Prompt-level monitoring and competitor comparison across major AI-search environments. Daily historical visibility data with domain-coverage trends. Gap analysis and reporting capabilities relevant to citation-audit workflows. API/MCP and reporting options suitable for agencies, dashboards, and enterprise operations [26]. Anthropic-reported evidence describes a GEO Audit evaluating 20+ on-page factors affecting citation likelihood, including structured data, content parsability, entity signal strength, and schema markup [30].

Main limitations. Evidence reviewed is predominantly company-published; independent validation of measurement accuracy and customer outcomes was not established. Citation architecture mapping is not clearly documented as a distinct capability. Recommendation impact appears to be measured through visibility, mentions, sentiment, and reported recommendations rather than independently verified causal impact. Coverage, included engines, and engine-specific pricing are not presented consistently across public pages. The current public pricing page does not clearly document the requested Professional Plan. AI-search results can vary by location, personalization, model, API behavior, and platform changes; OtterlyAI itself notes that manual results may differ [26].

Pricing or cost summary. Public pricing lists Lite at $29/month with 15 prompts, Standard at $189/month with 100 prompts, Premium at $489/month monthly or $422/month annually with 400 prompts, and Enterprise as custom-priced [e5:official:C2]. Annual billing is advertised as 15% off. Additional prompts cost $99 per 100 on Standard and Premium. Calculator-listed add-ons include Gemini at $9/month or $93/year, Google AI Mode at $9/month or $93/year, and Claude at $29/month or $300/year [32][e5:official:C2]. Anthropic-reported evidence estimates that adding all three engines raises the monthly total to $76 for Lite, $416 for Standard, and $1,226 for Premium [33].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (google, grok) to good (anthropic, deepseek, openai, perplexity) to uncertain (kimi).

6. BeCited

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is BeCited worth it for a one-time AI citation audit, and what are its main drawbacks?
  • Which AI citation audit service should a buyer choose if they want every citation personally reviewed by a human analyst?
  • What does the BeCited Full Audit cost, and how does quarterly tracking compare with the one-time audit?

BeCited ranked sixth with 2 platform mentions and an average listed position of 2.0, including a first-place ranking from grok. It has the highest average listed position of any entity outside the top five. The BeCited fit review covers the full evidence set.

Why it ranked here. It was named by grok and kimi, with grok placing it first. Its Full Audit publicly states that it runs 100–300 buying-intent prompts across four engines and provides prompt-by-prompt gap analysis, with every answer personally reviewed [e6:official:C1][34].

Best suited for. One-time U.S. AI-search citation baseline audits; marketing teams needing manually reviewed buying-intent prompts and prioritized remediation; companies wanting a fixed-price audit plus optional quarterly remeasurement.

Main strengths for this use case. Explicit 100–300 buying-intent prompt scope. Four named AI engines for the Full Audit. Prompt-level gap analysis, source mapping, competitor comparison, and prioritized recommendations. Human-reviewed positioning and strategy session rather than an explicitly dashboard-only product. Optional quarterly remeasurement with delta and trend reporting [34]. Google-reported evidence describes 95% confidence intervals alongside the BeCited Score to distinguish true visibility changes from generative engine variance [35].

Main limitations. Four-engine coverage may be insufficient for buyers prioritizing Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Copilot, Grok, or other recommendation surfaces. Public materials do not specify raw-response access, URL-level citation exports, sampling methodology, repeatability controls, or confidence intervals. No independently verified evidence was found for recommendation, traffic, lead, or revenue improvement. Citation architecture mapping is described conceptually through a source map and readiness signals, not as a documented formal architecture model. The public site does not clearly state U.S.-only sampling, geographic localization, industry-specific prompt design, or multi-language coverage for the Full Audit [34].

Pricing or cost summary. The public becited.io page lists Full Audit at $2,000 one time with a stated one-week turnaround, Quarterly at $1,500 per quarter for ongoing re-runs, and Snapshot at $199 one time with the amount creditable toward Full Audit within 30 days [e6:official:C1][e6:official:C2]. Pricing, scope, and packaging on the separate becited.co product site differ materially, so the buyer should confirm which BeCited entity and offer is being purchased [36].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (grok) to good (anthropic, google, kimi, openai, perplexity) to uncertain (deepseek). Deepseek found that no independently verifiable information about the company, the Full Audit deliverable, its methodology, pricing, or contract terms could be confirmed from public sources available at the research date [37]. Anthropic noted that the founder-centric delivery model creates a hard capacity constraint and does not scale to agency or large enterprise portfolios with dozens of simultaneous audits [38]. Perplexity noted that public pages do not clearly disclose the exact four AI engines covered [39].

7. AuditAE

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is AuditAE worth it for AI citation auditing, and what are its main drawbacks compared with subscription platforms?
  • Which AI citation audit service should a buyer choose if they want pay-per-check pricing with no subscription commitment?
  • What does AuditAE cost per AI citation check, and at what volume does a subscription become more economical?

AuditAE ranked seventh with 2 platform mentions and an average listed position of 2.0, including a second-place ranking from grok. It has the lowest published entry cost of any entity in this index. The AuditAE fit review covers the full evidence set.

Why it ranked here. It was named by grok and kimi, with grok placing it second. Its public pricing states $0.05 per prompt × engine check with no subscription, no monthly minimum, and $5 of introductory credit described as 100 checks with no card required [e7:official:C2].

Best suited for. One-time or periodic AI citation audits; SMB, founder, SEO, and agency teams needing pay-as-you-go monitoring; prompt-level competitor and cited-URL comparisons across four AI search surfaces.

Main strengths for this use case. Low-friction pay-per-check pricing is well suited to occasional audits, pilots, and agencies batching client checks. The stated four-engine coverage includes major AI search and generative-answer surfaces relevant to United States buyers. Prompt-level results, cited URLs, competitor citations, and share-of-voice reporting align directly with citation-audit requirements. Scheduled weekly or monthly tracking and report history support recurring monitoring without a fixed subscription [40]. Anthropic-reported evidence describes a distinction between brand mentions in the answer body and citations, addressing a common undercount [42].

Main limitations. Public evidence is primarily company-provided; independent validation of citation accuracy, coverage, uptime, or customer outcomes was not identified. Coverage is limited to the four publicly listed engines and may not include other recommendation or answer platforms important to the buyer. The public material does not clearly document a formal citation-architecture map, systematic source-gap prioritization, or causal recommendation-impact measurement. Enterprise scale, API limits, retention, exports, permissions, support response times, and SLA details are unclear. AI answers and citations can vary by time, location, personalization, model version, and query execution conditions; the reviewed materials do not establish how these variables are controlled [40].

Pricing or cost summary. Published pricing is pay-as-you-go at $0.05 per prompt-by-engine check, with no subscription or monthly minimum. A five-prompt audit across four engines is stated to cost $1.00. Published examples estimate approximately $52 per year for 10 prompts across two engines weekly and approximately $104 per year for 10 prompts across four engines weekly. Enterprise or high-volume usage is listed as contact sales for volume credits and reporting SLAs. Credits are stated not to expire, and top-ups are stated to be non-refundable [e7:official:C2][40].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (google, grok) to good (anthropic, kimi, openai, perplexity) to uncertain (deepseek). Deepseek flagged that official-site retrieval failed and that the AuditAE name and domain were an exact-name fallback match retained but unverified, so the identity of the operating company behind auditae.app is not established [44].

8. Semrush

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Semrush worth it for AI citation auditing, and what are the main limitations of the AI Visibility Toolkit?
  • Which AI citation audit platform should a buyer choose if they already use Semrush for SEO and want AI visibility in the same dashboard?
  • What does the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit cost per domain, and how many prompts are included?

Semrush ranked eighth with 2 platform mentions and an average listed position of 2.5, including a second-place ranking from openai. It is the only entity in this index that is primarily a broad SEO platform with AI visibility as an added layer. The Semrush fit review covers the full evidence set.

Why it ranked here. It was named by deepseek and openai, with openai placing it second. Its AI Visibility Toolkit publicly supports custom prompt tracking, identifies prompts where competitors appear but the buyer does not, and reports mentions and citations across ChatGPT, Google AI experiences, Gemini, and Perplexity, with the base plan listing 25 tracked prompts with daily rankings [45].

Best suited for. Marketing and SEO teams needing recurring AI visibility and citation monitoring; companies comparing their AI citations, mentions, prompts, and source coverage with competitors; organizations wanting AI citation data connected to site audits, SEO data, content workflows, and reporting.

Main strengths for this use case. Strong documented coverage of prompt tracking, citations, competitor gaps, and visibility benchmarking. Combines AI citation monitoring with traditional SEO, site auditing, content, analytics, and reporting workflows. Offers daily monitoring for core reports and scalable enterprise options including custom prompt tracking, multi-brand visibility, integrations, governance, and support. Useful for recurring internal audits and competitive monitoring rather than a one-time manual audit [45]. Anthropic-reported evidence describes page-level citation tracking showing which specific pages are cited in AI-generated answers, not just domain-level mentions [47].

Main limitations. Base prompt capacity is limited to 25 tracked prompts, with additional costs for expansion. Public documentation does not clearly confirm a complete citation-architecture map or unrestricted export of every cited URL and response. Recommendation-impact measurement appears to be operational guidance and correlation tracking, not independently validated causal attribution. Enterprise pricing and limits are not transparent. The product is primarily a software platform; a buyer seeking a fully managed audit, strategic interpretation, or implementation service may need Semrush services or another specialist provider [45].

Pricing or cost summary. The public AI Visibility Toolkit price is listed at $99 per month per domain when billed annually. The base plan includes 25 custom prompts, one domain for Brand Performance, 300 daily AI-analysis reports, and 10 CSV exports daily. Additional Brand Performance domains or locations are $99 each per month, additional prompt capacity is 50 prompts for $60 per month, and an additional user license is $99 per user. Enterprise AIO is custom-priced [45][e8:official:C2]. Semrush separately describes Semrush One as starting at $199 per month, but package contents and limits should be confirmed for the buyer's account and region [45].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from good (anthropic, deepseek, google, grok, openai, perplexity) to mixed (kimi).

9. CiteScore

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is CiteScore worth it for AI citation auditing, and what are its main drawbacks compared with enterprise platforms?
  • Which AI citation audit service should an agency choose if it needs white-label reporting across multiple client brands?
  • What does CiteScore charge for a one-time AI visibility audit versus its monthly tracking plans?

CiteScore ranked ninth with 2 platform mentions and an average listed position of 5.0, including a fourth-place ranking from kimi. It is the only entity in this index that combines a one-time audit, recurring tracking, and a done-for-you fix service under one brand. The CiteScore fit review covers the full evidence set.

Why it ranked here. It was named by anthropic and kimi, with kimi placing it fourth. Its public pricing lists a $299 one-time AI Visibility Audit running 100 category prompts across ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, and Perplexity, plus Starter at $69/month, Pro at $149/month, Agency at $299/month, and Fix Sprint at $1,500 one-time [e9:official:C1][e9:official:C2].

Best suited for. One-time citation landscape and presence-gap audits; recurring AI recommendation and citation tracking; agencies needing white-label reporting and multiple client brands.

Main strengths for this use case. Directly targets AI citation and recommendation visibility rather than only traditional SEO. Offers prompt-level results across four major generative-answer engines. Combines cited-source discovery, competitor benchmarking, source-gap prioritization, and recurring tracking. Provides a relatively low-cost one-time audit before committing to a subscription or service engagement. Fix Sprint adds execution and a before/after re-audit rather than stopping at reporting [48]. Google-reported evidence describes the Fix Sprint as a six-week engagement rewriting priority pages, publishing AEO-targeted articles, running citation outreach, and executing a week-six re-audit [50].

Main limitations. Coverage is publicly documented for four engines; broader AI search and recommendation coverage is unclear. Formal citation-architecture mapping and complete cited-URL analysis are not sufficiently specified publicly. Measurement methodology, sampling controls, reproducibility, geographic personalization, and statistical confidence are not fully documented. The company states that AI visibility gains can take 60–90 days; no improvement guarantee is provided. Public evidence is predominantly company-controlled, with no independent validation located in the reviewed sources. Fix Sprint scope is bounded by page, article, and outreach quantities and may not include all technical, editorial, legal, or third-party implementation work [48][e9:official:C1].

Pricing or cost summary. Public pricing lists a $299 one-time AI Visibility Audit, Starter at $69/month, Pro at $149/month plus $129/month per additional brand, Agency at $299/month including three client brands plus $79/month per additional client, Fix Sprint at $1,500 one-time, Fix Sprint+ at $2,500 one-time, and custom Enterprise pricing [e9:official:C2][51]. The pricing page advertises no annual lock-in and monthly paid plans, and the refund policy states subscriptions can be canceled through account settings with cancellation taking effect at the end of the current billing period [52].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (google, grok) to good (anthropic, openai, perplexity) to uncertain (deepseek, kimi).

What the Cross-Platform Study Reveals About This Market

Questions This Section Answers

  • What does the cross-platform AI citation audit market look like in 2026, and which service models dominate?
  • Which AI citation audit providers offer one-time audits versus recurring monitoring, and how do their prices compare?

The AI citation audit market splits into four distinct service models, and the ranking table reflects that split rather than a single quality hierarchy.

Recurring software platforms. Profound, AthenaHQ, OtterlyAI, and Semrush all sell subscriptions with prompt tracking, cited-source analysis, competitor benchmarking, and historical monitoring. Published entry prices range from $29/month (OtterlyAI Lite) to $295/month (AthenaHQ Starter) to $399/month (Profound Growth), with Semrush at $99/month per domain billed annually [e5:official:C2][e3:official:C1][53].

One-time human-reviewed audits. Revenue Experts AI and BeCited sell fixed-scope audits with human validation of cited pages. Revenue Experts AI lists $995 one-time on its current page, with other company pages citing $497 and $1,497 [e2:official:C1]. BeCited lists $2,000 one-time for its Full Audit with one-week turnaround [e6:official:C1].

Analyst-led agency engagements. The Enough Agency sells citation auditing as part of a broader AEO, authority, content, and entity service stack, with public packages from $999 to $3,999 one-time plus bespoke retainers [e4:official:C1].

Metered pay-per-check. AuditAE is the only entity in this index with no subscription at all, charging $0.05 per prompt × engine check with credits that do not expire [e7:official:C2].

A second pattern is that citation-architecture mapping is the least consistently verified capability across the entire index.

Where the AI Platforms Agreed

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which AI citation audit capabilities do multiple AI platforms agree are important, and where is the consensus strongest?

Profound leads. All three platforms that named Profound placed it first. No other entity received three first-place rankings. Openai, deepseek, and google all ranked it at position 1 [55].

Prompt-level citation data matters. Every entity in this index was evaluated against prompt-level citation data as a core criterion, and every platform reviewer treated it as a primary differentiator. Profound, Revenue Experts AI, AthenaHQ, The Enough Agency, OtterlyAI, BeCited, AuditAE, Semrush, and CiteScore all describe prompt-level or prompt-by-engine reporting in their public materials.

Cited URL and domain analysis is table stakes. All nine entities describe some form of cited URL, cited domain, or source analysis. The disagreement is about depth and exportability, not about whether the capability exists.

Competitor benchmarking is universal. All nine entities describe competitor citation comparison, share of voice, or competitive gap analysis in some form.

Company-owned evidence dominates. For most entities, company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations. Profound's evidence audit counts 27 independent and 18 owned citations; Revenue Experts AI counts 7 independent and 18 owned; AthenaHQ counts 20 independent and 22 owned; The Enough Agency counts 6 independent and 29 owned; OtterlyAI counts 19 independent and 30 owned; BeCited counts 4 independent and 13 owned; AuditAE counts 2 independent and 23 owned; Semrush counts 13 independent and 29 owned; CiteScore counts 11 independent and 12 owned.

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed

Questions This Section Answers

  • Where did the AI platforms disagree about AI citation audit services, and which entities received the most conflicting fit ratings?
  • Which AI citation audit provider has the widest disagreement between platform reviewers, and what should a buyer verify as a result?

Fit ratings diverged sharply for several entities. Profound received strong, good, mixed, and uncertain ratings across seven platforms. Revenue Experts AI received strong, good, mixed, and uncertain. AthenaHQ received strong, good, mixed, and uncertain. The Enough Agency received strong, good, and uncertain. OtterlyAI received strong, good, and uncertain. BeCited received strong, good, and uncertain. AuditAE received strong, good, and uncertain. Semrush received good and mixed. CiteScore received strong, good, and uncertain.

Pricing conflicts were common. Profound's Enterprise pricing is not published, with third-party reports ranging from $2,000 to $5,000+ per month [58]. Revenue Experts AI's public pages cite $497, $995, and $1,497 for different packages [59][e2:official:C1]. AthenaHQ's historical "Lite" and "Growth" plans at $270–$545 per month conflict with the current Starter structure at $295 per month [60]. OtterlyAI's "Pro" plan at $989/month appears in one source but not in current pricing. BeCited's becited.io and becited.co sites list materially different products and prices [61].

Engine coverage conflicts were common. Profound's public pricing page lists three named engines in the plan comparison while Enterprise is described as up to nine [62].

How Buyers Should Choose

Questions This Section Answers

  • How should a buyer choose an AI citation audit service, and what should they verify before signing a contract?
  • Which AI citation audit provider is best for a company that needs a one-time baseline versus one that needs continuous monitoring?

Start with the engagement model, not the brand. If the buyer needs a one-time baseline, Revenue Experts AI, BeCited, and CiteScore's $299 audit are the relevant options. If the buyer needs continuous monitoring, Profound, AthenaHQ, OtterlyAI, and Semrush are the relevant options. If the buyer needs metered, no-commitment checks, AuditAE is the only option in this index. If the buyer needs analyst-led interpretation plus implementation, The Enough Agency is the relevant option.

Match engine coverage to the buyer's actual audience. Profound's public pricing lists ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Google AI Overviews in the standard comparison, with up to nine engines for Enterprise [63]. AthenaHQ's Starter plan publicly lists 11 models [64]. OtterlyAI's base plans include four core engines with Gemini, Google AI Mode, and Claude as paid add-ons [65]. Semrush's standard toolkit tracks ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, and Perplexity, with Claude, Copilot, and DeepSeek reserved for Enterprise AIO [67]. Revenue Experts AI tests ChatGPT, Claude, and Perplexity, excluding Gemini [68]. BeCited's Full Audit covers four engines [e6:official:C1]. AuditAE covers ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, and Google AI Overviews [69]. CiteScore covers ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, and Perplexity [e9:official:C1]. .

Methodology

This index was produced from one standardized prompt sent once to each of seven AI platforms on 2026-09-17: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, and google. The prompt asked which AI citation audit services would be recommended for a company wanting an independent audit of its current AI citation footprint, covering where the company is cited, which pages receive citations, which competitors receive stronger citation coverage, what sources dominate the category, how the company's citation architecture compares, and what authority gaps should be addressed.

Platforms were asked to name audit companies, audit services, or advisory providers. Entities named by at least two platforms qualified for the final ranking. The final ranking order is based on platform mentions, then average listed rank, then best listed rank. The ranking table is the sole authority for rank, platform mentions, platform share, average listed position, and best position.

Platform mentions count only ranking-discovery mentions. They do not represent the number of platforms that later completed a fit assessment. All included platforms evaluated fit, but only some named each entity during ranking discovery.

Each entity's evidence bundle was reviewed for fit assessment, use-case findings, pricing and terms, strengths, limitations, better-alternative conditions, factual conflicts or uncertainty, questions to verify before buying, and a final verdict. Fit ratings were recorded per platform where supplied.

Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. Company-owned sources are distinguished from independent sources where the evidence bundles provide that information. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage.

Methodology Limitations

  • Single prompt, single run. One standardized prompt was sent once to each platform. AI answers can vary by date, wording, location, account state, model, interface, browsing configuration, and the sources retrieved. A different prompt or a repeat run could produce a different ranking.
  • Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date. Deepseek reported 2026-01-15 for Profound, AthenaHQ, Semrush, and CiteScore; 2026-06-11 for Revenue Experts AI, OtterlyAI, and AuditAE; and 2026-02-14 for The Enough Agency and BeCited. These are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.
  • Platform recommendations are market intelligence, not independent customer reviews or proof of quality. A platform naming an entity does not mean the platform tested the service or verified its claims.
  • Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations for most entities. Do not treat company claims as independently verified.
  • Some platforms reported verification failures. Kimi reported that the AthenaHQ website returned 404 or was not accessible, that no verifiable information about OtterlyAI was found in its web search results, and that the CiteScore website was inaccessible. Deepseek flagged that official-site retrieval failed for AuditAE and that the identity was an exact-name fallback match retained but unverified.
  • Pricing and packaging conflicts were not resolved. Where public sources conflict on price, plan names, engine coverage, or feature availability, this report describes the conflict and tells buyers what to verify rather than choosing one value. .

Final Verdict

Profound is the consensus leader for AI Citation Audit Services in this 7-platform study, named by 3 platforms at an average listed position of 1.0 and ranked first by every platform that named it. It is the strongest fit for enterprise teams needing recurring, multi-engine citation monitoring with governance features, but its Enterprise pricing, prompt allowances, historical-retention limits, and exact engine coverage are not publicly specified, and its fit ratings ranged from strong to uncertain across platforms.

Revenue Experts AI is the strongest one-time, human-validated audit option, with cited-page claim checking and a prioritized improvement plan, but it covers only three engines and excludes Gemini. BeCited is the strongest founder-reviewed fixed-fee audit, with 100–300 prompts across four engines at $2,000 one-time, but its founder-centric model limits scale. AuditAE is the lowest-commitment option at $0.05 per check with no subscription, but its identity was resolved by exact-name fallback and remains unverified. AthenaHQ offers the broadest publicly listed self-serve engine coverage at 11 models, but its most citation-specific features appear restricted to Enterprise. OtterlyAI has the most transparent published pricing, but its weekly refresh cadence and add-on engine costs are material limitations. Semrush is the best fit for teams already inside an SEO suite, but its base plan is limited to 25 prompts and its methodology documentation is thin. The Enough Agency offers analyst-led prompt testing across six engines, but publishes no dedicated citation auditing rate card.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is an AI citation audit?

An AI citation audit identifies where a company is cited across AI search and generative-answer platforms, which pages receive citations, which competitors receive stronger citation coverage, what sources dominate the category, how the company's citation architecture compares, and what authority gaps should be addressed.

Which AI citation audit service ranked first in this study?

Profound ranked first, named by 3 of 7 platforms at an average listed position of 1.0 and a best position of 1.

How many platforms were studied?

Seven: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, and google. One standardized prompt was sent once to each platform on 2026-09-17.

How many entities qualified for the ranking?

Nine entities qualified by being named by at least two platforms: Profound, Revenue Experts AI, AthenaHQ, The Enough Agency, OtterlyAI, BeCited, AuditAE, Semrush, and CiteScore.

Which AI citation audit service is cheapest?

AuditAE has the lowest published entry cost at $0.05 per prompt × engine check, with $5 of free credit and no subscription. OtterlyAI has the lowest published subscription entry at $29/month for 15 prompts.

Which AI citation audit service is best for a one-time audit?

Revenue Experts AI lists a $995 one-time audit with human-reviewed citation validation across ChatGPT, Claude, and Perplexity. BeCited lists a $2,000 one-time Full Audit with 100–300 prompts across four engines. CiteScore lists a $299 one-time AI Visibility Audit with 100 prompts across four engines.

Do any of these services guarantee improved AI citations?

No.

Consolidated Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Other Sources

Platform-by-platform recommendations

Numbers show recorded recommendation position. A dash means no qualifying recommendation was recorded in a usable response. Unusable responses are not negative votes.

Qualified entities in this research snapshot
PlatformProfoundRevenue Experts AIAthenaHQThe Enough AgencyOtterlyAIBeCitedAuditAESemrushCiteScore
ChatGPT#1—#5—#3——#2—
Claude—#1——————#6
DeepSeek#1—#2—#10——#3—
Grok—#3—#4—#1#2——
Perplexity———#2—————
Kimi—#1———#3#2—#4
Gemini#1—#2#8#4————

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
September 17, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Candidates reviewed
45
Qualified finalists
9

Research trail and source mix

Configured platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

248 total · 98 independent · 148 company-owned · 2 unclear

Evidence support

167 direct · 48 partial

Important limitation

Exactly 7 platforms were included in this run: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google. The configured source value 7 is provenance only and must never be described as the number of platforms studied.

Source snapshot SHA-256 8e25906fad9e88eb1122692f8df80e4c3295c1580c84c774c77ec30b00bf792d